• Friday, Jan 22, 2021
  • Last Update : 04:04 am
China-backed bank to put $285m into...

China-backed bank to put $285m into...

Business

Tue, Feb 27 2018

'Moreover, the AIIB is supposed to invest more $885 million within the next five years at five projects...

Making energy cheaper, smarter, and...

Making energy cheaper, smarter, and...

Business

Tue, Feb 13 2018

To meet rapidly growing demand, Gulf countries are transforming the region’s energy sector using disruptive...

Little progress in large coal-fired...

Little progress in large coal-fired...

Business

Sun, Jan 21 2018

Except for the 1,320 MW public sector plant in Payra, Patuakhali, the remaining ones will need another...

Powering the way to prosperity

Powering the way to prosperity

Business

Tue, Jan 16 2018

How major developments in the power sector have propelled the nation forward

Payra coal-fired power plant to go into...

Payra coal-fired power plant to go into...

Power & Energy

Sat, Dec 23 2017

The units will feature a plan for installing another coal-fired power plant having the same capacity...

Let’s be clear about nuclear

Let’s be clear about nuclear

SA Mansoor

Fri, Dec 1 2017

When it comes to nuclear power, we need to be very careful

No one interested in building Keraniganj...

No one interested in building Keraniganj...

Bangladesh

Tue, Nov 21 2017

PDB has floated the tender for the project for the third time, with the deadline of tender selling on...

Govt planning to reduce gas supply to...

Govt planning to reduce gas supply to...

Power & Energy

Thu, Nov 16 2017

'We have been on track to implement the prime minister’s directive. We have already stopped providing...

3,600-MW LNG based power plant to be...

3,600-MW LNG based power plant to be...

Power & Energy

Sat, Nov 4 2017

North-West Power Generation Company Limited and Siemens AG will sign a MoU on Sunday in this regard

Indian power plant blast kills 26, injures...

Indian power plant blast kills 26, injures...

South Asia

Thu, Nov 2 2017

India's largest power producer said there was a sudden abnormal sound at a unit around 3:30pm local time,...

Government to build 500MW power plant...

Government to build 500MW power plant...

Power & Energy

Fri, Oct 27 2017

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is likely to inaugurate the construction work in early January 2018

Govt nods joint venture Summit-GE power...

Govt nods joint venture Summit-GE power...

Power & Energy

Thu, Oct 26 2017

It is part of the government’s initiative to increase power production

Bangladesh to set up sub-station to...

Bangladesh to set up sub-station to...

Power & Energy

Thu, Oct 12 2017

India’s state-owned NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd will supply 340MW power to Bangladesh from several Bongaigaon...

New private-funded 200MW power plant...

New private-funded 200MW power plant...

Power & Energy

Thu, Sep 21 2017

The government will buy electricity at Tk8.41 kWh for 15 years

First power plant fully funded by India...

First power plant fully funded by India...

Power & Energy

Tue, Aug 29 2017

PDB will buy per unit at Tk3.24 from the gas unit and Tk13.8 from the diesel unit

Govt plans to build 600MW LNG-based...

Govt plans to build 600MW LNG-based...

Power & Energy

Tue, Jul 18 2017

It will be developed by a Japanese-Bagladesh joint venture company

Bank law change to prompt new power...

Bank law change to prompt new power...

Power & Energy

Fri, Jul 14 2017

A government committee formed on July 4 is working on finding ways to meet the power generation gap within...

Sending the wrong signals

Sending the wrong signals

Tribune Climate

Wed, Jul 12 2017

India to add 8.8GW in new solar capacity this year will overtake Japan as the third largest solar market...

Summit Power to list on Singapore Stock...

Summit Power to list on Singapore Stock...

What the World Says

Tue, Jun 20 2017

With 15 power plants and a total of installed generating capacity over 1,500 megawatts (MW), Summit...

Why so late?

Why so late?

Abdul Matin , Abdul Matin

Sun, May 21 2017

We could have saved billions in Rooppur

Activists: Ash from Rampal will destroy...

Activists: Ash from Rampal will destroy...

Environment

Wed, May 17 2017

Even if half of all ash produced is recycled into brick and concrete industries, the ash disposal pond...