• Thursday, Jun 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:16 am
The Eid of sacrifice

The Eid of sacrifice

Editorial

Mon, Aug 20 2018

In the true spirit of sacrifice, this Eid, let us not forget those less fortunate, and try to improve...

If only you had enough dough

If only you had enough dough

Nusmila Lohani

Sat, Jul 21 2018

Is it even worth it to fight for a more equal life?

Is Migration a way out of Poverty?

Is Migration a way out of Poverty?

Special Supplement

Thu, Jun 28 2018

Across the world people migrate into cities with the aim of improving their lives. Cities

Poor in the city

Poor in the city

Shafayat Nazam Rasul

Tue, Jun 5 2018

The importance of an evidence-based approach to addressing the problems of urban poverty

Poverty: A poem

Poverty: A poem

Arts & Letters

Mon, May 14 2018

A Bengali classic in translation

Breaking the myths about nutrition

Breaking the myths about nutrition

Deepak Dhoj Khadka

Thu, Apr 19 2018

Under-nutrition is one of our most pressing development challenges

Issues on the horizon

Issues on the horizon

M Shameem Ahsan

Thu, Apr 5 2018

Bangladesh has some soul-searching to do on the road ahead

Skills for the future

Skills for the future

Opinion

Sun, Apr 1 2018

This is an excellent idea that will provide the youth of this country with the opportunity to find more...

The forgotten silent majority

The forgotten silent majority

Abdul Hannan

Thu, Mar 29 2018

Our development success does not reflect our glaring class inequality

We have not graduated yet

We have not graduated yet

Muhammad Mehedi Masud

Tue, Mar 27 2018

We need to focus on a few key areas to graduate on time

Making lives better with economics

Making lives better with economics

Business

Sat, Mar 24 2018

What the dismal science has to say about alleviating global poverty

Violence against children: Parents’...

Violence against children: Parents’...

Special

Sat, Mar 17 2018

'In a rape case, if the victim is under 13 years old, her parents want to hush up what happened to their...

‘Poverty originates in an unjust social...

‘Poverty originates in an unjust social...

Dhaka

Mon, Feb 26 2018

Speakers discuss renowned economist Professor Rehman Sobhan’s new book ‘Challenging Injustice in South...

Onwards and upwards

Onwards and upwards

Uncategorized

Thu, Feb 22 2018

The PM’s words show determination in making Bangladesh completely free of poverty and hunger

Could you pay that in cash,

Could you pay that in cash,

Business

Sun, Feb 18 2018

A cost-benefit analysis of the new civil servant compensation scheme

The fight against hunger

The fight against hunger

Editorial

Thu, Feb 15 2018

Bangladesh is set to lose 40% of its cultivable land by 2080, while global food demand is set to rise...

Slum residents are not ignorant

Slum residents are not ignorant

Mehnaz Abbasi Badhan

Sat, Feb 10 2018

How can we better manage disasters in slum areas?

National Safe Food Day celebrated...

National Safe Food Day celebrated...

Nation

Sun, Feb 4 2018

One of the current commitments of the present government is to make the country self sufficient in food...

Brazil is back

Brazil is back

Michel Temer

Mon, Jan 29 2018

The country is on the path to openness, responsibility, and freedom

To foreign shores

To foreign shores

Shazia Omar , Shazia Omar

Wed, Jan 24 2018

What is the true cost of migration?

Waste not, want not

Waste not, want not

Nibir Mostafa Khan

Wed, Jan 17 2018

The world produces enough food, but millions still go hungry every day