• Tuesday, Oct 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 03:27 pm
ED: The need for sustainable...

ED: The need for sustainable...

Editorial

Sat, Oct 10 2020

As we develop economically as a nation, we should not forget to develop the lives of people along the...

Loan sharks prey on the desperate amid...

Loan sharks prey on the desperate amid...

Nation

Thu, Oct 1 2020

Loan sharks, hiding in plain sight as people’s saviours during their time of need, are trapping...

OP-ED: Are we channelling funds to where...

OP-ED: Are we channelling funds to where...

Hasin Jahan , Zarif Iftekhar Rasul

Thu, Jul 9 2020

The 2020-21 budget falls well short of expectations

ED: To those in need

ED: To those in need

Editorial

Wed, Jul 8 2020

The project plans to distribute 11,068 tons of rice to over 10 million people

OP-ED: A litmus test

OP-ED: A litmus test

Mazher Mir

Fri, Jun 19 2020

Bangladesh is in dire need of leadership and good global partners

OP-ED: Hungry teachers, old pensioners,...

OP-ED: Hungry teachers, old pensioners,...

Syed Badrul Ahsan

Wed, Jun 17 2020

The rich get away with crimes, while the poor weep and huddle in the corner

ED: Let’s get real

ED: Let’s get real

Editorial

Fri, Jun 12 2020

This can only mean that the government has set hopeful but unrealistic expectations regarding the resumption...

BEA: 36 million people lost jobs in...

'36m people lost jobs during virus...

Business

Mon, Jun 8 2020

Some 59.5 million people moved into different class structures during this period, of which 25.5 million...

OP-ED: Stop giving the rich and politically-connected...

OP-ED: Stop giving the rich and politically-connected...

Ashikur Rahman

Thu, Jun 4 2020

Private jets for some, and pandemic war for the rest of us?

Cushioning the fall

Cushioning the fall

Editorial

Wed, Jun 3 2020

The poorest of the poor must be sheltered from the harsh blow dealt by the current crisis

Keeping up the good work

Keeping up the good work

Editorial

Sat, May 30 2020

It is good to see that DNCC is doing its part

Please don’t leave people in the...

Please don’t leave people in the...

Editorial

Fri, May 22 2020

The longer these people have no access to electricity, the longer will their suffering be worsened

To all those who suffered

To all those who suffered

Editorial

Thu, May 21 2020

We offer our condolences to those whose lives were shattered as a result of the cyclone

Into the jaws of poverty

Into the jaws of poverty

Editorial

Wed, May 20 2020

Food aid is now failing to meet the needs of the extreme urban poor

A plan for the rural poor

A plan for the rural poor

Editorial

Sat, May 16 2020

A recent survey has shown that over 80% of rural farmers, day labourers, and factory workers have experienced...

Poor students miss out on digital education...

Poor students miss out on digital education...

Nation

Fri, May 15 2020

'Impoverished students in remote areas and even in the city are missing out on digital classes as...

The poor should not be forgotten

The poor should not be forgotten

Editorial

Thu, May 14 2020

There is no doubt that our economy will have to cope with this new state of affairs

Is this the beginning of the end?

Is this the beginning of the end?

Mostafiz Kazi

Wed, Apr 29 2020

The only way to beat this virus will be to not add starvation to the equation

Stealing relief is inexcusable

Stealing relief is inexcusable

Editorial

Sat, Apr 18 2020

Stealing relief is committing a crime against the teeming millions who are poor and destitute in this...

Coronavirus: Poor continue to struggle...

Coronavirus: Poor continue to struggle...

Coronavirus

Thu, Apr 16 2020

Government’s decision to halt the OMS rice selling campaign affected the people with lower...

A web of corruption surrounding relief...

A web of corruption surrounding relief...

Anupam Debashis Roy

Wed, Apr 15 2020

The private and public sectors must work together to pull the country out of this crisis