• Thursday, Apr 22, 2021
  • Last Update : 07:12 pm
Toxicity levels in Shitalakkhya, Banar...

Toxicity levels in Shitalakkhya, Banar...

Nation

Thu, Apr 15 2021

The pollution in these rivers reach critically high levels during the dry season every year

Thousands protest in Belgrade, demand...

Thousands protest in Belgrade, demand...

Europe

Sun, Apr 11 2021

As it seeks to join the European Union, Serbia will need billions of euros of investment to meet the...

Call for saving Bangladesh from mounting...

Call to save Bangladesh from plastic...

Bangladesh

Thu, Mar 18 2021

Environment experts worried by trading of hazardous plastic waste

No respite from pollution as Dhaka’s...

Dhaka’s air quality still

Dhaka

Mon, Mar 15 2021

In recent months, the air quality has degraded to such a degree that the High Court had to issue a nine-point...

OP-ED: Plastics in my life

OP-ED: Plastics in my life

Ekram Kabir

Sat, Mar 6 2021

Plastics are everywhere in our lives. Is there a way out? 

ED: A brazen disregard for both law...

ED: A brazen disregard for both law...

Editorial

Fri, Mar 5 2021

Such a situation can only exist when an individual is above the law

CO2 pollution bounces back, climate...

CO2 pollution bounces back, climate...

Climate Change

Tue, Mar 2 2021

Energy-related emissions were 2% higher in December 2020 than in the same month a year earlier

ED: We must tackle air pollution...

ED: We must tackle air pollution...

Editorial

Sun, Feb 28 2021

Air pollution levels in the capital have become ‘extreme’

Nasa: Pollution could be the solution...

Nasa: Pollution could be the solution...

World

Mon, Feb 15 2021

Astronomers have found over 4,000 planets orbiting other stars to date

DoE fines 8 businesses over 4L for polluting...

DoE fines 8 entities 4L over...

Nation

Thu, Feb 11 2021

The department slapped the fines following hearings on Thursday

HC directs closure of all illegal brick...

HC directs closure of all illegal brick...

Chittagong

Sun, Jan 31 2021

The High Court directed authorities to shut down and fine all illegal brick kilns in Chittagong. The...

Earning a living out of plastic...

Earning a living out of plastic...

Dhaka

Sat, Jan 16 2021

Workers pick up plastic chips and dry them under the sun on the bank of the Buriganga River in Dhaka....

High Court orders DoE to file cases...

Buriganga Pollution: HC orders to sue...

Court

Sun, Jan 3 2021

‘The DoE has closed the plants twice, but they resumed their operations’

OP-ED: How happy can 2021 be?

OP-ED: How happy can 2021 be?

Julian Francis

Fri, Jan 1 2021

Vaccines, pollution, corruption -- Bangladesh has a lot on its plate

OP-ED: The great equalizer

OP-ED: The great equalizer

Mahde Hassan

Tue, Dec 15 2020

Covid-19 has emerged as an ultimatum for humanity to correct its wrongs

In pictures: Dust pollution rises

In pictures: Dust pollution rises

Dhaka

Sun, Nov 29 2020

Many who have recovered from Covid-19 or have underlying respiratory complications will have to be extra-cautious...

India court bans firecrackers in pollution-hit...

India court bans firecrackers in pollution-hit...

Court

Mon, Nov 9 2020

The National Green Tribunal said the role of pollution in the Covid-19 crisis meant that the ban was...

Experts: Reduce air pollution to avoid...

Experts: Reduce air pollution to avoid...

Dhaka

Sun, Nov 1 2020

The World Health Organization (WHO) recently cautioned that cities which have a higher level of air pollution...

ED: Breathing easy

ED: Breathing easy

Editorial

Sun, Oct 18 2020

With the added threat of Covid-19 this year, unhealthy air only makes it more dangerous

ED: Taking back our canals

ED: Taking back our canals

Editorial

Sun, Oct 11 2020

Year after year, we are told that Dhaka is one of the least liveable cities in the world, and no doubt,...

High Court warns Dhaka Wasa MD about...

Buriganga pollution: HC warns Dhaka...

Court

Mon, Sep 14 2020

Wasa chief given one month to completely stop the dumping of industrial waste into the Buriganga