• Saturday, Apr 04, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:08 am
The immovable patriarchy

The immovable patriarchy

Opinion

Mon, Mar 23 2020

The UN’s SDG 5 leaves too much unsaid -- especially for women in Bangladesh

Rupa Huq: Going rogue on

Rupa Huq: Going rogue on

Opinion

Thu, Feb 27 2020

Trashing Bangladesh with partisan exaggerations will do nothing to advance human rights

Trump’s plan and peace in the Middle...

Trump’s plan and peace in the Middle...

Longform

Wed, Feb 26 2020

Is a solution in sight for the Israel-Palestine conflict?

Not all springs end winter

Not all springs end winter

D2

Tue, Feb 25 2020

Anupam Debashis Roy takes an analytic lens to youth movements in Bangladesh

The diminished politics of demographic...

The diminished politics of demographic...

Vivek Menezes

Fri, Feb 21 2020

More power to the millennials

A moment of sadness

A moment of sadness

Forrest Cookson

Wed, Feb 19 2020

The Senate did not condemn Trump, but history will

CAA: Neither statesmanship, nor...

CAA: Neither statesmanship, nor...

Longform

Sat, Feb 15 2020

The situation is much more complex than it appears

When the Rohingya issue takes a back...

When the Rohingya issue takes a back...

Muhammad Zamir

Sat, Feb 8 2020

For China, the crisis in Rakhine state isn’t a big issue

PM: Zia, Ershad, Khaleda weren’t serious...

PM: Zia, Ershad, Khaleda weren’t serious...

Politics

Wed, Feb 5 2020

She said being the child of this soil; she has some responsibilities towards this land

Violence cannot rule our political...

Violence cannot rule our political...

Editorial

Mon, Jan 27 2020

Violence will not be allowed to define the way our city, and indeed our nation, is run

For the sake of the environment

For the sake of the environment

Editorial

Thu, Jan 23 2020

What citizens want is a cleaner, more sustainable Dhaka

Knowledge from our past

Knowledge from our past

Syed Badrul Ahsan

Wed, Jan 22 2020

An argument for substantive studies of history

BJP picks new president as challenges...

BJP picks new president as challenges...

South Asia

Mon, Jan 20 2020

Nadda was elected unopposed, the party said

From Russia, no love

From Russia, no love

Anik Kabir

Sat, Jan 18 2020

Russia’s cabinet has resigned, and it’s all part of Putin’s plan

Nothing to lose

Nothing to lose

Saad Z Hossain

Thu, Jan 16 2020

It's time for fresh faces in mayoral politics

No acche din in sight

No acche din in sight

Samrat Choudhury

Tue, Jan 14 2020

Don’t believe the lies

Leaving no one behind

Leaving no one behind

Shishir Reza

Thu, Jan 9 2020

Bangabandhu wanted to build a society free from exploitation

The thirst for absolute power

The thirst for absolute power

Forrest Cookson

Tue, Jan 7 2020

Can the president use his office to improperly deal with his political opponents? 

Earning back the people’s trust

Earning back the people’s trust

Editorial

Mon, Jan 6 2020

The BCL has not had the best track record in recent years

Journeys through January

Journeys through January

Syed Badrul Ahsan

Thu, Jan 2 2020

How the month was a passage from innocence to experience

Setting the agenda for 2020

Setting the agenda for 2020

Editorial

Wed, Jan 1 2020

This is an ambitious agenda, but one that is entirely within the scope of Bangladesh