• Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:08 pm
A time for togetherness

A time for togetherness

Editorial

Tue, Oct 8 2019

We wish our readers a blessed Durga Puja

To peace and beyond

To peace and beyond

Editorial

Sun, Sep 29 2019

A future that is still ruled under the threat of nuclear warfare is no future at all

A saint among us

A saint among us

Julian Francis

Thu, Sep 5 2019

Remembering Mother Teresa on her death anniversary

Give peace a chance

Give peace a chance

AHM Mustafizur Rahman

Tue, Sep 3 2019

Why is there so much disharmony between all of us?

Does the world need another...

Does the world need another...

Towheed Feroze

Mon, Aug 19 2019

Are we about to witness a new wave of youth in revolt?

Study finds gender equality key to peace...

Study finds gender equality key to peace...

Dhaka

Sat, Mar 30 2019

96.8% female students say equal opportunity for both men and women can promote cohesion in society

A time for solidarity

A time for solidarity

El Hassan bin Talal

Mon, Mar 18 2019

Now is the time to cling to our shared ideals

Let cool heads prevail

Let cool heads prevail

Editorial

Thu, Feb 28 2019

In a war between such powerful nations, there are no winners, only losers

Pope Francis leaves behind trail of...

Pope Francis leaves behind trail of...

Middle East

Fri, Feb 8 2019

Several UAE residents of the Christian faith planned their journey from early on to be able to attend...

Afghan women fear cost of peace will...

Afghan women fear cost of peace will...

South Asia

Fri, Feb 1 2019

After six days of negotiations in Qatar, the US and Taliban have agreed a draft framework for a deal...

Afghan Taliban discusses 'post-occupation...

Afghan Taliban discusses 'post-occupation...

Middle East

Tue, Jan 1 2019

There have been reports in the past of talks between Iran and the Taliban, but they have typically been...

Yemen rebels begin withdrawal from Hodeida...

Yemen rebels begin withdrawal from Hodeida...

Middle East

Sat, Dec 29 2018

Pro-government forces are also supposed to pull back from parts of the city they recaptured in an offensive...

Pakistan: US troop withdrawal step forward...

Pakistan: US troop withdrawal step forward...

South Asia

Sun, Dec 23 2018

The decision to pull around half of the 14,000 American troops in Afghanistan has stunned and dismayed...

Dying by the numbers

Dying by the numbers

Momtaj Monwara

Thu, Nov 22 2018

Peace seems like a distant dream for the suffering Yemenis

Russia gambles on Taliban peace...

Russia gambles on Taliban peace...

Azeem Ibrahim

Mon, Nov 12 2018

Could Putin be hailed as a champion of peace?

In God’s kingdom

In God’s kingdom

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Oct 19 2018

There is much to learn from Bhutan

Finding zen in modern life

Finding zen in modern life

Maisha Mehzabeen

Fri, Aug 31 2018

How to find tranquility in an increasingly chaotic world

‘This is the cleanest election in Pakistan’s...

‘This is the cleanest election in Pakistan’s...

Imran Khan

Sat, Jul 28 2018

The following is an excerpt of the victory speech by PTI chairman and election front-runner Imran...

This cannot be allowed to stand

This cannot be allowed to stand

Opinion

Sat, Jul 7 2018

Students cadres breaking the law threaten the fabric of democracy

Beauty and love inspired by the...

Beauty and love inspired by the...

Shireen Phasha

Thu, Jun 7 2018

For 1,400 years, the Qur’an has inspired a vast spectrum of creativity

To be a better person

To be a better person

Sher A Naser Khan

Fri, May 25 2018

Can our politicians learn the true value of Ramadan?