• Tuesday, Oct 26, 2021
  • Last Update : 06:46 pm
JS body discusses ways to check rice...

JS body discusses ways to check rice...

Parliament

Mon, Sep 20 2021

Paddy and rice procurement program during the current boro season was also discussed 

Minister for action against paddy...

Minister for action against paddy...

Bangladesh

Thu, Jul 1 2021

There will be no crisis of food grains, says the food minister

Faridpur farmer cultivates ‘Fatema dhan’...

Faridpur farmer cultivates ‘Fatema dhan’...

Agriculture

Tue, May 4 2021

The average length of each plant is between 115cm to 130cm, the number of tillers is eight and the average...

News Analysis: Why buy from millers,...

Why buy from millers, not from...

Agriculture

Sat, Apr 24 2021

Much of the govt’s price support goes into the hands of the millers while only a small part of...

Boro cultivation: Mechanical transplantation...

Boro cultivation to get more efficient...

Nation

Fri, Jan 22 2021

The Department of Agricultural Extension and the Ministry of Agriculture have decided to implement this...

Agriculture Minister: No one goes to...

'No one goes to bed hungry in...

Agriculture

Fri, Oct 23 2020

He also asked all officials of the ministry to be prepared for the second wave of coronavirus...

Japanese scientists develop salt-resistant...

Japan develops salt-resistant rice

World

Mon, Sep 21 2020

Less than 1% of fresh water is available for human use, and 70% of that is used for agriculture...

Aman farming target exceeds by 1.17%...

Aman farming target exceeds by 1.17%...

Nation

Mon, Sep 14 2020

Earlier, the government undertook massive post-flood agriculture rehabilitation programs to assist flood-affected...

Must we import rice this year?

Must we import rice this year?

Bangladesh

Sun, Aug 9 2020

With its current stock, Bangladesh is well poised in meeting the demand up to the next harvesting season,...

State Minister: Govt to procure paddy...

State Minister: Govt to procure paddy...

Bangladesh

Sat, Jun 27 2020

Paddy will be procured directly from farmers at fair prices after a selection process through lottery,...

BRRI Hybrid Dhan - 5, BRRI Hybrid Dhan...

BRRI Hybrid Dhan - 5, BRRI Hybrid Dhan...

Agriculture

Wed, May 20 2020

There was bumper yield in all areas in the district due to timely rainfall, favourable weather and absence...

Rice Procurement: Govt favours millers...

Rice Procurement: Govt favours millers...

Nation

Mon, May 18 2020

Paddy growers said they have taken huge loans from money lenders for cultivating and harvesting...

Rice crops are being destroyed by blast...

Rice crops are being destroyed by blast...

Nation

Sun, May 17 2020

The severity of the disease causes reduction in grain yield

Buy paddy from farmers, not rice from...

Buy paddy from farmers, not rice from...

Agriculture

Mon, May 11 2020

Only 1.34% of the farmers got the government-set price against their produce

Farmers harvest half-ripe paddy as rain,...

Farmers harvest half-ripe paddy as rain,...

Nation

Sat, Apr 25 2020

'This is ridiculous. It happens every year and we need a sustainable plan to avert this kind of situation...

Farmers expect good Boro yield but worry...

Farmers expect good Boro yield but worry...

Nation

Sat, Apr 11 2020

According to the local agriculture department, this year’s harvest season will begin from April...

Tackling coronavirus: Govt to procure...

Tackling coronavirus: Govt to procure...

Coronavirus

Wed, Apr 8 2020

According to the notification, the procurement drive will start on April 26 and continue until August...

Bogra farmers begin Boro cultivation...

Bogra farmers begin Boro cultivation...

Business

Thu, Jan 16 2020

However, many growers are facing a capital crisis at present as they failed to recover even production...

Naogaon paddy farmers suffer again during...

Naogaon paddy farmers suffer again during...

Nation

Sat, Dec 7 2019

Farmers say they are incurring losses of Tk3,000 to Tk5,000 from harvest in each bigha of land

Blast disease worries farmers in...

Blast disease worries farmers in...

Nation

Sun, Nov 24 2019

According to the Department of Agriculture Extension (DAE) of the upazila, 18,000 hectares of land have...

Eat well and thank the farmers

Eat well and thank the farmers

Business

Thu, Oct 31 2019

Can technology change the agriculture industry?