• Friday, Sep 21, 2018
  • Last Update : 11:31 am
BSTI law to be overhauled; draft...

BSTI law to be overhauled; draft...

Statecraft

Mon, May 28 2018

The Cabinet on Monday approved the draft of "The Bangladesh Standards and Testing Institution...

Make sentencing sensible

Make sentencing sensible

Special Supplement

Tue, May 22 2018

Section 367 (5) of the Code of Criminal Procedure (CrPC) states that “If the accused is convicted...

Murderers behind wheels

Murderers behind wheels

Editorial

Fri, May 18 2018

We demand justice for Nazim. We want murderers behind wheels to be made to answer for their crimes

A world without firearms

A world without firearms

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Apr 27 2018

What would that world look like?

Dedicated to justice

Dedicated to justice

Opinion

Thu, Apr 26 2018

Legal aid services should be seen as a right for all citizens

Safeguarding our rights

Safeguarding our rights

Opinion

Wed, Apr 18 2018

There is no justification for the police to be using excessive force against ordinary citizens

The need for neutrality

The need for neutrality

Tasmiah Nuhiya Ahmed

Fri, Apr 6 2018

Net neutrality is essential to truly realize Digital Bangladesh

The hanging hand

The hanging hand

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Apr 6 2018

Are we aware of just how dangerous our roads are?

When the streets aren’t safe

When the streets aren’t safe

Miti Sanjana

Thu, Mar 15 2018

A woman has the right to move freely throughout the country under the law, but do men respect it?

IMF: Bangladesh should reform law to...

IMF: Bangladesh should reform law to...

Banks

Fri, Mar 9 2018

Daisaku underlined the need for consolidating the financial sector through the development of the country’s...

The right to a fair trial

The right to a fair trial

Sadiya S Silvee

Wed, Feb 28 2018

How can we enhance our trial system?

Zuma’s disgrace, South Africa’s democratic...

Zuma’s disgrace, South Africa’s democratic...

Esam Sohail , Esam Sohail

Fri, Feb 23 2018

For South Africa, dictatorships and sustainable democracies are mutually exclusive

A matter of equality

A matter of equality

Nur E Emroz Alam Tonoy

Mon, Feb 12 2018

Equal rights for women are guaranteed by our constitution, no matter what some may say

The imprisonment of Begum Zia

The imprisonment of Begum Zia

What the international community does not want is another controversial election

Zero tolerance  for violence

Zero tolerance for violence

Opinion

Wed, Feb 7 2018

BNP would be wise to not choose the path of confrontation

Men can be harassed too

Men can be harassed too

Miti Sanjana

Mon, Feb 5 2018

Anyone can be the victim of a cyber crime

CJ: The state’s three organs must work...

CJ: The state’s three organs must work...

Bangladesh

Sun, Feb 4 2018

Newly appointed Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain has started his first day at work on Sunday

Taking back control

Taking back control

Miti Sanjana

Thu, Jan 25 2018

How should sexual abuse on campus be dealt with?

A culture of abuse

A culture of abuse

Editorial

Mon, Jan 22 2018

Why is it that the public has to show the police where to look for such violence?

Are politicians becoming extinct?

Are politicians becoming extinct?

Afsan Chowdhury , Afsan Chowdhury

Sat, Jan 13 2018

Political credentials aren’t needed anymore -- connections are enough

Man fined for petitioning against government...

Man fined for petitioning against government...

Court

Mon, Jan 8 2018

The writ petition was filed on December 10, 2017 challenging a gazette notification issued by the Law...