• Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:34 pm
A national issue with global...

A national issue with global...

Sabiha Mehzabin Oishee

Mon, Nov 18 2019

Bangladesh remains a locus of human trafficking

A new law is not enough

A new law is not enough

Editorial

Sat, Nov 2 2019

There remain issues with BRTA’s capabilities and competencies

Know thy law of cricket

Know thy law of cricket

Umran Chowdhury

Fri, Nov 1 2019

What exactly was the law that Shakib al Hasan broke?

Defying law, brick kilns operating inside...

Defying law, brick kilns operating inside...

Nation

Fri, Oct 25 2019

The local administration and the Department of Environment (DoE) are yet to take any visible measure...

Ending the culture of chaos

Ending the culture of chaos

Editorial

Sun, Oct 20 2019

Implement rule and order to the chaotic nature of the way the traffic system functions

A plea for justice

A plea for justice

Farzana Ahmed Sobhan

Sun, Oct 20 2019

Poppy’s death could have been avoided

The state of the unions

The state of the unions

Nadim Zawad Akil

Fri, Sep 20 2019

Why our trade unions are failing

No one is above the law

No one is above the law

Editorial

Wed, Sep 18 2019

No one is above the law, and any person who attempts to abuse it will be brought to task

A litany of litigations

A litany of litigations

Md Zakir Hossain

Thu, Sep 12 2019

Our judiciary is in desperate need of upgrading

Is there a problem, officer?

Is there a problem, officer?

Sarmin Akther

Mon, Aug 26 2019

In Bangladesh, the police abuse their powers to search and stop

Justice delayed  is justice denied

Justice delayed is justice denied

Editorial

Fri, Aug 23 2019

It is the lack of functionality and efficiency of our justice system that continues to embolden...

The practice of dog culling must...

The practice of dog culling must...

Editorial

Thu, Aug 8 2019

It must be remembered that animal cruelty remains a criminal offense

We need to step up the fight against...

We need to step up the fight against...

Editorial

Sat, Jul 27 2019

A comprehensive legal framework is needed for the protection of children

A sick culture of violence

A sick culture of violence

Editorial

Wed, Jul 24 2019

Violence, of course, is never the answer. Neither is vigilante justice, for that matter

Protecting our daughters

Protecting our daughters

Farzana Mahmood

Sun, Jul 14 2019

Will the death penalty be able to stop rape?

Zero tolerance for sexual violence

Zero tolerance for sexual violence

Editorial

Sat, Jul 13 2019

Such individuals deserve to be punished to the fullest extent of the law

For our four-legged friends

For our four-legged friends

Editorial

Mon, Jul 8 2019

What makes this new law especially hopeful is the unanimity through which it was passed in...

A legal conundrum?

A legal conundrum?

Hussain MF Bari

Fri, Jul 5 2019

Exploring ADR processes in criminal litigation

Murder, shootouts, and the slow wheels...

Murder, shootouts, and the slow wheels...

Syed Badrul Ahsan

Thu, Jul 4 2019

Nayan reaped what he sowed, but that is only the small picture

Speeding up the process

Speeding up the process

Editorial

Sun, Jun 30 2019

Our law enforcement agencies and judicial bodies are rather tone-deaf to the needs of rape victims

Desperate times, desperate

Desperate times, desperate

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Jun 21 2019

Do sex crimes call for extreme measures?