• Sunday, Nov 18, 2018
  • Last Update : 12:39 am
When the police break the law

When the police break the law

Nafiz Ahmed

Fri, Nov 16 2018

We need legal safeguards against the abuse of police power

What jute can do for us

What jute can do for us

Sabrina Zarin

Mon, Nov 5 2018

Tapping into the potential of the golden fibre

Ireland votes to lift blasphemy

Ireland votes to lift blasphemy

World

Sun, Oct 28 2018

The 1937 blasphemy provision makes "matter that is grossly abusive or insulting in relation to matters...

Incomplete maybe, but justice...

Incomplete maybe, but justice...

Shah Ali Farhad

Fri, Oct 12 2018

Political opposition must be faced politically, not with grenades

BNP rejects Digital Security Act

BNP rejects Digital Security Act

Politics

Mon, Oct 8 2018

The party’s reaction comes after the president assents to the bill, making it a law

A conflict of rights

A conflict of rights

Aiman R Khan

Thu, Oct 4 2018

Can the RTI and OSA co-exist?

There is no justice in killing

There is no justice in killing

Al Amin Rahman

Wed, Oct 3 2018

The death penalty should have no place in the 21st century

We need to defend our freedom

We need to defend our freedom

Nur E Emroz Alam Tonoy

Tue, Oct 2 2018

No one deserves to be criminalized for exposing the truth

President signs 11 bills into law

President signs 11 bills into law

Statecraft

Mon, Oct 1 2018

The 22nd session of the 10th parliament, which was prorogued on September 20, had passed a total of 18...

Innocence destroyed

Innocence destroyed

Editorial

Sat, Sep 22 2018

The retrograde mindset that causes parents to favour boys over girls can do a lot of harm

Mainstream media is not the enemy

Mainstream media is not the enemy

Editorial

Thu, Sep 20 2018

It seems that many of the problems of Section 57 of the ICT Act will simply recur under a new name

The presumption of innocence

The presumption of innocence

Opinion

Wed, Sep 12 2018

As a general rule, we feel that denial of bail should be the exception and not the rule

Parents should not be kept in the...

Parents should not be kept in the...

Opinion

Tue, Sep 11 2018

Too often we have seen people disappear into custody and their families receiving either silence or unhelpful,...

A hard act to follow

A hard act to follow

Opinion

Mon, Sep 3 2018

Expressing ourselves is part of being Bangladeshi

ICT laws which work

ICT laws which work

Opinion

Sun, Sep 2 2018

What do British and Bangladeshi ICT laws have in common?

Protecting the right to protest

Protecting the right to protest

Opinion

Thu, Aug 30 2018

The right to protest and peaceful assembly is essential for progress

Inherent messages of the children’s...

Inherent messages of the children’s...

Badiul Alam Majumdar

Fri, Aug 24 2018

It is time to win the hearts and minds of citizens

A shared responsibility

A shared responsibility

Tribune Editorial

Fri, Aug 24 2018

Civic responsibility and obeying the law is imperative to ensure a clean and safe Eid-ul-Azha

A law from medieval times

A law from medieval times

Opinion

Thu, Aug 16 2018

Why have adultery laws not changed with the times?

No place for custodial abuse

No place for custodial abuse

Opinion

Thu, Aug 9 2018

Every single person, whatever their level of prominence of social status, has the right to due process...

Hoping for better days to come

Hoping for better days to come

Tasmiah Nuhiya Ahmed

Wed, Aug 8 2018

Let us make sure due process is followed at all times