• Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:29 am
Abuse needs to be taken seriously

Abuse needs to be taken seriously

Anik Kabir

Thu, Mar 12 2020

Even when it happens to men

A failure to protect

A failure to protect

Editorial

Thu, Mar 5 2020

Criminals are allowed to go free, while victims of rape and abuse are blamed and shamed

Why rapes keep happening

Why rapes keep happening

Mehadi Hasan

Tue, Feb 25 2020

It all comes down to a culture of impunity

The power to protect citizens

The power to protect citizens

Esam Sohail

Fri, Feb 21 2020

How to defend the constitution of our nation

Before our rivers run dry

Before our rivers run dry

Md Zakir Hossain

Mon, Feb 17 2020

Are the current legal measures enough to save our rivers? 

Jute’s potential is being wasted

Jute’s potential is being wasted

Editorial

Sat, Jan 25 2020

It is about time we took the benefits of jute more seriously

Mob lynchings are a mockery of...

Mob lynchings are a mockery of...

Editorial

Tue, Jan 14 2020

No one can take the law into their own hands

We are failing to protect  our...

We are failing to protect our...

Editorial

Thu, Jan 9 2020

We can only begin to fix the problem by facing the facts

A police of the people

A police of the people

Editorial

Mon, Jan 6 2020

This current, somewhat hostile, relationship between the police and the public must come to an end

Anarchy for the common good

Anarchy for the common good

Mohammad Tareq Hasan

Wed, Dec 25 2019

We have accepted unequal power relations as the natural human condition

A national issue with global...

A national issue with global...

Sabiha Mehzabin Oishee

Mon, Nov 18 2019

Bangladesh remains a locus of human trafficking

A new law is not enough

A new law is not enough

Editorial

Sat, Nov 2 2019

There remain issues with BRTA’s capabilities and competencies

Know thy law of cricket

Know thy law of cricket

Umran Chowdhury

Fri, Nov 1 2019

What exactly was the law that Shakib al Hasan broke?

Defying law, brick kilns operating inside...

Defying law, brick kilns operating inside...

Nation

Fri, Oct 25 2019

The local administration and the Department of Environment (DoE) are yet to take any visible measure...

Ending the culture of chaos

Ending the culture of chaos

Editorial

Sun, Oct 20 2019

Implement rule and order to the chaotic nature of the way the traffic system functions

A plea for justice

A plea for justice

Farzana Ahmed Sobhan

Sun, Oct 20 2019

Poppy’s death could have been avoided

The state of the unions

The state of the unions

Nadim Zawad Akil

Fri, Sep 20 2019

Why our trade unions are failing

No one is above the law

No one is above the law

Editorial

Wed, Sep 18 2019

No one is above the law, and any person who attempts to abuse it will be brought to task

A litany of litigations

A litany of litigations

Md Zakir Hossain

Thu, Sep 12 2019

Our judiciary is in desperate need of upgrading

Is there a problem, officer?

Is there a problem, officer?

Sarmin Akther

Mon, Aug 26 2019

In Bangladesh, the police abuse their powers to search and stop

Justice delayed  is justice denied

Justice delayed is justice denied

Editorial

Fri, Aug 23 2019

It is the lack of functionality and efficiency of our justice system that continues to embolden...