• Friday, May 24, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:04 pm
There’s something wrong with the...

There’s something wrong with the...

Aiman R Khan

Fri, May 17 2019

Even the spirit of Ramadan does not stop unscrupulous businesses from poisoning our food

A life of dignity

A life of dignity

Sarmin Akther

Wed, May 15 2019

All people, including sex workers, have fundamental rights

A sympathetic ear

A sympathetic ear

Shahriar Bin Wares

Fri, May 10 2019

A rape victim should not have to give her statement to a male magistrate

A day out at the police station

A day out at the police station

Rizowan Ahmed

Mon, Apr 29 2019

Police officers work under tremendous pressure 

Chief justice: Access to law not the...

Chief justice: Access to law not the...

Event

Fri, Apr 26 2019

Private organizations and NGOs should come forward to provide legal aid to poverty-stricken justice...

Weapons don’t kill people

Weapons don’t kill people

Shahriar Bin Wares

Tue, Apr 23 2019

They just make it much, much easier to do so

Child marriage is a blight on...

Child marriage is a blight on...

Editorial

Sun, Apr 21 2019

The reasons behind the persistence of child marriage are complex, but we ignore them at our own...

Our stitches in time

Our stitches in time

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Apr 19 2019

Why don’t we ever act before it’s too late?

S Korea court strikes down law criminalizing...

S Korea court strikes down law criminalizing...

East Asia

Thu, Apr 11 2019

The court said in a statement the outright ban on abortion, as well as a law that made doctors who conduct...

Sharia law plunges Brunei gay community...

Sharia law plunges Brunei gay community...

East Asia

Thu, Apr 4 2019

The new sharia penal code has sparked a global outcry with governments around the world condemning the...

In need of reform

In need of reform

Maliha Ahmed

Fri, Mar 29 2019

How inheritance laws put women at a disadvantage

Brought to book

Brought to book

Aiman R Khan

Tue, Mar 26 2019

Reading and learning are part of the road to rehabilitation 

Putin signs laws against 'disrespecting'...

Putin signs laws against 'disrespecting'...

Europe

Wed, Mar 20 2019

Another piece of legislation allows authorities to decide what amounts to 'fake news' and gives...

Innocent until proven guilty

Innocent until proven guilty

Mir Aftabuddin Ahmed

Thu, Feb 28 2019

How can we fix our broken legal system?

Outside the law

Outside the law

Mehedi Hassan

Wed, Feb 13 2019

The system is not doing enough to punish rapists

The laws of the land

The laws of the land

Walid Saddat Raffat

Sun, Feb 10 2019

Why we need to start teaching our children about the law

Why we need tort law

Why we need tort law

Delwar Hossain

Thu, Feb 7 2019

Can victims of negligence be compensated? 

Justice from the shadows?

Justice from the shadows?

Aiman R Khan

Thu, Jan 31 2019

Why vigilantism exists

Punishment through crime

Punishment through crime

Rubaiyat Kabir

Wed, Jan 30 2019

Citizens taking the law into their own hands should never be celebrated

The scourge of  sexual violence

The scourge of sexual violence

Editorial

Thu, Jan 10 2019

Why would women feel safe about reporting cases of rape and sexual violence when a toxic attitude prevails...

Do we need a ministry for religious...

Do we need a ministry for religious...

Farzana Mahmood

Fri, Dec 21 2018

The constitution respects all religions equally. This is the concluding part of yesterday’s...