• Thursday, Nov 21, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:34 am
Six people killed in Nepal...

Six people killed in Nepal...

South Asia

Sat, Sep 14 2019

Chitra Bahadur Gurung, Rolpa district police chief, said that all six people were buried under the landslide...

When the weather kills

When the weather kills

Editorial

Tue, Jul 9 2019

That Bangladesh is affected by the monsoon season is known to all, yet every year, the same tragedy...

Landslides a threat to human...

Landslides a threat to human...

Nation

Sun, Mar 24 2019

Cutting, razing of hills continues in Ctg

Can we save our forests?

Can we save our forests?

Shishir Reza

Thu, Mar 21 2019

Why the loss of forestland adversely affects us all

Indonesian landslide leaves 15 dead...

Indonesian landslide leaves 15 dead...

South Asia

Tue, Jan 1 2019

Search and rescue teams said they have found 15 people dead and are scouring the area for at least 25...

5 children killed in Cox's Bazar...

5 children killed in Cox's Bazar...

Nation

Wed, Jul 25 2018

District administration removing risky settlements from Cox’s Bazar hills

Don’t wait until it’s too late

Don’t wait until it’s too late

Opinion

Thu, Jul 5 2018

Landslides and mudslides due to incessant rainfall continue to put the lives of people at risk

Evacuation drive continues in Chittagong...

Evacuation drive continues in Chittagong...

Nation

Wed, Jun 13 2018

The government is trying to prevent the loss of lives in landslides during the monsoon

Over 31,000 Rohingyas vulnerable to...

Over 31,000 Rohingyas vulnerable to...

Bangladesh

Tue, Jun 12 2018

Within 24 hours of the rains starting on Saturday, humanitarian agencies reported some 59 incidents,...

Bracing for the monsoon

Bracing for the monsoon

Editorial

Sun, Jun 3 2018

We must meet the challenge of continuing our humanitarian work

Bamboo: An Organic Solution to Save...

Bamboo: An Organic Solution to Save...

Magazine

Thu, May 31 2018

Incredibly, the world's most urgent humanitarian crisis is about to take a dramatic turn for

Thousands of Rohingya trained ahead...

Thousands of Rohingya trained ahead...

Bangladesh

Tue, May 29 2018

It is estimated that up to 200,000 refugees could be at risk of flooding and landslides

On the precipice of death

On the precipice of death

Editorial

Wed, May 23 2018

Why is more not being done to protect residents in these places?

Utility connections to vulnerable hill...

Utility connections to vulnerable hill...

Nation

Wed, Apr 18 2018

'The people are living on these foothills illegally and vulnerably as well. It will act as a disincentive...

Bangladesh begins relocating Rohingya...

Bangladesh begins relocating Rohingya...

South Asia

Tue, Apr 3 2018

Bangladesh had allocated roughly 3,500 acres of forested land in Cox's Bazar to the newly-arrived Rohingya...

Monsoon floods and landslides threaten...

Monsoon floods and landslides threaten...

South Asia

Sat, Mar 10 2018

Nearly 700,000 Rohingyas have fled to Bangladesh since last August to escape a military crackdown in...

Floods, landslides kill 37 in Vietnam,...

Floods, landslides kill 37 in Vietnam,...

World

Thu, Oct 12 2017

Vietnam has been hard hit by severe weather this year

129 cases filed over hill cutting in...

129 cases filed over hill cutting in...

Environment

Fri, Aug 18 2017

Hill cutting is mainly responsible for landslides that claim dozens of lives every year

Heavy rainfall likely in Sylhet,...

Heavy rainfall likely in Sylhet,...

Nation

Tue, Aug 15 2017

Bangladesh has been suffering from heavier than expected rainfall in the current monsoon season, leading...

Floods kill 153 in India and Nepal

Floods kill 153 in India and Nepal

South Asia

Mon, Aug 14 2017

As emergency workers struggled to reach far-flung areas, the country's home ministry said another 36...

Civil society urges the govt to take...

Civil society urges the govt to take...

Bangladesh

Sat, Jul 22 2017

'Lack of coordination among the policy makers played a major role in creating such an incident'