• Thursday, Oct 01, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:40 pm
Can we anticipate landslides?

Can we anticipate landslides?

Climate Change

Wed, Sep 2 2020

Lessons from the Chittagong Hill Tracts

South Korea floods, landslides kill...

South Korea floods, landslides kill...

East Asia

Sat, Aug 8 2020

About 100 metres (109.36 yards) of levee collapsed at the Seomjin River in the southern edge of the peninsula...

North Korea on flood alert as heavy...

North Korea on flood alert as heavy...

East Asia

Thu, Aug 6 2020

The North's official KCNA news agency said areas hardest-hit by the downpour include Hwanghae province,...

South Korea floods, landslides kill...

South Korea floods, landslides kill...

East Asia

Tue, Aug 4 2020

The victims included three New Zealanders from the same family, who were found dead on Monday after a...

Flash floods kill at least 16, displace...

Flash floods kill at least 16, displace...

World

Wed, Jul 15 2020

In one village, photographs showed a damaged house and a truck partially submerged under thick mud, while...

Six people killed in Nepal...

Six people killed in Nepal...

South Asia

Sat, Sep 14 2019

Chitra Bahadur Gurung, Rolpa district police chief, said that all six people were buried under the landslide...

When the weather kills

When the weather kills

Editorial

Tue, Jul 9 2019

That Bangladesh is affected by the monsoon season is known to all, yet every year, the same tragedy...

Landslides a threat to human...

Landslides a threat to human...

Nation

Sun, Mar 24 2019

Cutting, razing of hills continues in Ctg

Can we save our forests?

Can we save our forests?

Shishir Reza

Thu, Mar 21 2019

Why the loss of forestland adversely affects us all

Indonesian landslide leaves 15 dead...

Indonesian landslide leaves 15 dead...

South Asia

Tue, Jan 1 2019

Search and rescue teams said they have found 15 people dead and are scouring the area for at least 25...

5 children killed in Cox's Bazar...

5 children killed in Cox's Bazar...

Nation

Wed, Jul 25 2018

District administration removing risky settlements from Cox’s Bazar hills

Don’t wait until it’s too late

Don’t wait until it’s too late

Opinion

Thu, Jul 5 2018

Landslides and mudslides due to incessant rainfall continue to put the lives of people at risk

Evacuation drive continues in Chittagong...

Evacuation drive continues in Chittagong...

Nation

Wed, Jun 13 2018

The government is trying to prevent the loss of lives in landslides during the monsoon

Over 31,000 Rohingyas vulnerable to...

Over 31,000 Rohingyas vulnerable to...

Bangladesh

Tue, Jun 12 2018

Within 24 hours of the rains starting on Saturday, humanitarian agencies reported some 59 incidents,...

Bracing for the monsoon

Bracing for the monsoon

Editorial

Sun, Jun 3 2018

We must meet the challenge of continuing our humanitarian work

Bamboo: An Organic Solution to Save...

Bamboo: An Organic Solution to Save...

Magazine

Thu, May 31 2018

Incredibly, the world's most urgent humanitarian crisis is about to take a dramatic turn for

Thousands of Rohingya trained ahead...

Thousands of Rohingya trained ahead...

Bangladesh

Tue, May 29 2018

It is estimated that up to 200,000 refugees could be at risk of flooding and landslides

On the precipice of death

On the precipice of death

Editorial

Wed, May 23 2018

Why is more not being done to protect residents in these places?

Utility connections to vulnerable hill...

Utility connections to vulnerable hill...

Nation

Wed, Apr 18 2018

'The people are living on these foothills illegally and vulnerably as well. It will act as a disincentive...

Bangladesh begins relocating Rohingya...

Bangladesh begins relocating Rohingya...

South Asia

Tue, Apr 3 2018

Bangladesh had allocated roughly 3,500 acres of forested land in Cox's Bazar to the newly-arrived Rohingya...

Monsoon floods and landslides threaten...

Monsoon floods and landslides threaten...

South Asia

Sat, Mar 10 2018

Nearly 700,000 Rohingyas have fled to Bangladesh since last August to escape a military crackdown in...