• Wednesday, Aug 21, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:48 pm
Bodies of Kolkata road accident victims...

Bodies of Kolkata road accident victims...

Nation

Sun, Aug 18 2019

The two Bangladeshi citizens were killed in the road accident early Saturday

Speeding Jaguar kills 2 Bangladeshis...

Speeding Jaguar kills 2 Bangladeshis...

South Asia

Sat, Aug 17 2019

The bodies of the deceased are expected to arrive in Bangladesh Sunday morning

One dead, 16 injured in lightning in...

One dead, 16 injured in lightning in...

South Asia

Fri, Aug 16 2019

Four Bangladeshi nationals were injured in the incident

Actor-singer Ruma Guha Thakurta passes...

Actor-singer Ruma Guha Thakurta passes...

Showtime

Mon, Jun 3 2019

She was suffering from old age-related ailments

New election clashes hit Indian city...

New election clashes hit Indian city...

South Asia

Fri, May 17 2019

Police said at least 26 arrests were made on Friday over the latest unrest as they bolstered security...

Soldiers patrol India's Kolkata after...

Soldiers patrol India's Kolkata after...

South Asia

Thu, May 16 2019

More than 100 supporters of Modi's party were detained for violence in West Bengal on Tuesday

Clashes leave Kolkata on edge ahead...

Clashes leave Kolkata on edge ahead...

South Asia

Wed, May 15 2019

The state has been hit by repeated violence between the two parties during the six-week-long election...

59 seats including 8 in West Bengal...

59 seats including 8 in West Bengal...

South Asia

Sun, May 12 2019

Violence mars polls in West Bengal, largest among 5 Indian states bordering Bangladesh

2 teenagers return home after serving...

2 teenagers return home after serving...

Nation

Sat, Mar 2 2019

They were sent to India by human traffickers, lured by better jobs

The pursuit of classic Kolkata

The pursuit of classic Kolkata

D2

Sat, Feb 9 2019

It was difficult to wean myself away from the culinary attractions of Bengal Club, but I had only five...

Mamata Banerjee, BJP claim moral victory...

Mamata Banerjee, BJP claim moral victory...

South Asia

Tue, Feb 5 2019

The Supreme Court on Tuesday ordered Rajeev Kumar to cooperate with the CBI in the Saradha probe and...

Mamata Banerjee begins sit-in protest...

Mamata Banerjee begins sit-in protest...

South Asia

Mon, Feb 4 2019

Several Opposition leaders criticise CBI’s attempt to question Kolkata Police Commissioner, say...

A time travel through the ages of fabled...

A time travel through the ages of fabled...

D2

Sat, Feb 2 2019

I am no expert on Kolkata nor its food, as I never lived there. I have only visited Kolkata a few times,...

Indian general elections: Modi’s fate...

Indian general elections: Modi’s fate...

South Asia

Fri, Jan 25 2019

The 2019 poll is a litmus test for Bharatiya Janata Party’s performance  

Sporadic violence in nationwide Indian...

Sporadic violence in nationwide Indian...

South Asia

Tue, Jan 8 2019

West Bengal's capital Kolkata, home to five million people, saw sporadic violence as protesters squatted...

Legendary film-maker Mrinal Sen...

Legendary film-maker Mrinal Sen...

Showtime

Sun, Dec 30 2018

The director, along with Satyajit Ray and Ritwik Ghatak, was at the helm of the Bengali Parallel Cinema,...

University in Kolkata offers Harry Potter...

University in Kolkata offers Harry Potter...

D2

Tue, Oct 30 2018

The course attempts to serve as a breather from the orthodox law school curriculum

Fire at Kolkata Medical College, 250...

Fire at Kolkata Medical College, 250...

South Asia

Wed, Oct 3 2018

The fire began in the building that houses the pharmacy, around 8am on Wednesday

Bomb kills child, injures 9 in...

Bomb kills child, injures 9 in...

South Asia

Tue, Oct 2 2018

Eyewitnesses described a 'powerful explosion' to local media and said that it shattered the windows...

Rescue teams searching rubble after...

Rescue teams searching rubble after...

South Asia

Tue, Sep 4 2018

Yet it was not known if there were casualties

Bangla is our hard-earned brand

Bangla is our hard-earned brand

Opinion

Tue, Jul 31 2018

The renaming of West Bengal to Bangla will unleash a world of confusion