• Thursday, Apr 25, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:57 pm
2 teenagers return home after serving...

2 teenagers return home after serving...

Nation

Sat, Mar 2 2019

They were sent to India by human traffickers, lured by better jobs

The pursuit of classic Kolkata

The pursuit of classic Kolkata

D2

Sat, Feb 9 2019

It was difficult to wean myself away from the culinary attractions of Bengal Club, but I had only five...

Mamata Banerjee, BJP claim moral victory...

Mamata Banerjee, BJP claim moral victory...

South Asia

Tue, Feb 5 2019

The Supreme Court on Tuesday ordered Rajeev Kumar to cooperate with the CBI in the Saradha probe and...

Mamata Banerjee begins sit-in protest...

Mamata Banerjee begins sit-in protest...

South Asia

Mon, Feb 4 2019

Several Opposition leaders criticise CBI’s attempt to question Kolkata Police Commissioner, say...

A time travel through the ages of fabled...

A time travel through the ages of fabled...

D2

Sat, Feb 2 2019

I am no expert on Kolkata nor its food, as I never lived there. I have only visited Kolkata a few times,...

Indian general elections: Modi’s fate...

Indian general elections: Modi’s fate...

South Asia

Fri, Jan 25 2019

The 2019 poll is a litmus test for Bharatiya Janata Party’s performance  

Sporadic violence in nationwide Indian...

Sporadic violence in nationwide Indian...

South Asia

Tue, Jan 8 2019

West Bengal's capital Kolkata, home to five million people, saw sporadic violence as protesters squatted...

Legendary film-maker Mrinal Sen...

Legendary film-maker Mrinal Sen...

Showtime

Sun, Dec 30 2018

The director, along with Satyajit Ray and Ritwik Ghatak, was at the helm of the Bengali Parallel Cinema,...

University in Kolkata offers Harry Potter...

University in Kolkata offers Harry Potter...

D2

Tue, Oct 30 2018

The course attempts to serve as a breather from the orthodox law school curriculum

Fire at Kolkata Medical College, 250...

Fire at Kolkata Medical College, 250...

South Asia

Wed, Oct 3 2018

The fire began in the building that houses the pharmacy, around 8am on Wednesday

Bomb kills child, injures 9 in...

Bomb kills child, injures 9 in...

South Asia

Tue, Oct 2 2018

Eyewitnesses described a 'powerful explosion' to local media and said that it shattered the windows...

Rescue teams searching rubble after...

Rescue teams searching rubble after...

South Asia

Tue, Sep 4 2018

Yet it was not known if there were casualties

Bangla is our hard-earned brand

Bangla is our hard-earned brand

Opinion

Tue, Jul 31 2018

The renaming of West Bengal to Bangla will unleash a world of confusion

‘Bangladesh, India have failed to ensure...

‘Bangladesh, India have failed to ensure...

Foreign Affairs

Mon, Jul 23 2018

Tapoti Bhowmick, secretary of Kolkata-based rights group Sanlaap, talks about the current challenges...

Envoy: PM Hasina’s India visit very...

Envoy: PM Hasina’s India visit very...

Foreign Affairs

Fri, Jun 1 2018

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's last week visit to West Bengal has been very successful in

PM Hasina to meet the press...

PM Hasina to meet the press...

Bangladesh

Tue, May 29 2018

The briefing will be held at Ganabhaban Wednesday afternoon

PM Hasina, Modi inaugurate Bangladesh...

PM Hasina, Modi inaugurate Bangladesh...

Foreign Affairs

Fri, May 25 2018

The building houses a museum highlighting Indo-Bangla relations and Tagore’s association to...

No progress in Teesta water-sharing...

No progress in Teesta water-sharing...

Foreign Affairs

Wed, May 23 2018

'You'll come to know about the signing of the deal in due time,' the foreign minister tells...

Hasina, Modi, Mamata to meet at Shantiniketan...

Hasina, Modi, Mamata to meet at Shantiniketan...

Foreign Affairs

Mon, May 21 2018

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, her Indian counterpart Narendra Modi and West Bengal Chief Minister...

Kolkata racket sent packaged carcass...

Kolkata racket sent packaged carcass...

Around the Web

Tue, May 1 2018

Dead animals from dump yards were being picked up, processed and sold around the region, police

Kashmir: Heaven on earth

Kashmir: Heaven on earth

Arts & Letters

Wed, Apr 18 2018

A travelogue