• Tuesday, Oct 26, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:01 am
ED: Save our dying rivers

ED: Save our dying rivers

Editorial

Mon, Sep 27 2021

It is simply unacceptable that so many lives are hampered, not to mention the entire ecosystem

ED: Another fire that should have been...

ED: Another fire that should have been...

Editorial

Sun, Aug 22 2021

There is little subsequent follow-up, and even fewer plans to identify and deal with similar fire hazards...

ED: Putting an end to irregularities...

ED: Putting an end to irregularities...

Editorial

Wed, Jul 28 2021

There is no doubt that this culture of corruption and irregularities has held back the country

ED: A culture of negligence and...

ED: A culture of negligence and...

Editorial

Mon, Jul 19 2021

Regulatory agencies have also shown great negligence in this regard

ED: A failure to comply

ED: A failure to comply

Editorial

Mon, Jul 12 2021

This is also a failure on the part of the authorities concerned

ED: A disappointment, to say the...

ED: A disappointment, to say the...

Editorial

Mon, Jun 21 2021

Such an omission nurtures a ‘sense of impunity’ in Myanmar

ED: A sickness in our mindset

ED: A sickness in our mindset

Editorial

Tue, Mar 2 2021

Until we change our attitudes, the severity of punishment will do little to prevent such violations

ED: Cracking down on those who pollute...

ED: Cracking down on those who pollute...

Editorial

Tue, Jan 5 2021

Unless we can put an end to their activities, all rivers in Bangladesh could very well end up like the...

OP-ED: Shaping a new Bangladesh

OP-ED: Shaping a new Bangladesh

Niaz Islam Arif

Mon, Nov 30 2020

Both individual and collective action are crucial to combat violence against women

ED: Violence against women should never...

ED: Violence against women should never...

Editorial

Wed, Nov 25 2020

Harsher and harsher punishment for rapists only focuses on one small part of the problem while ignoring...

OP-ED: Are some animals more equal than...

OP-ED: Are some animals more equal than...

Ziaur Rahman

Mon, Nov 2 2020

No one should be above the law, not even those in parliament

OP-ED: Observing the International Day...

OP-ED: Observing the International Day...

Benoit Prefontaine

Mon, Nov 2 2020

Media freedom provides the information needed to hold powerful people to account

ED: A case study in how the law can...

ED: A case study in how the law can...

Editorial

Tue, Oct 20 2020

All rapists should be brought to book, no matter what their background

OP-ED: A battle too important to...

OP-ED: A battle too important to...

Mahde Hassan

Mon, Oct 19 2020

Forget the politics -- it's time to create a nation free of sexual violence

OP-ED: No mercy for Baloch...

OP-ED: No mercy for Baloch...

Saleem Samad

Tue, Oct 13 2020

Pakistan’s ‘kill and dump’ policy in Balochistan continues with impunity

Rape: Political power a factor for...

Rape: Political power a factor for...

Bangladesh

Fri, Oct 9 2020

The protests following the recent spike in rapes brought the issue of the political identities of rapists...

OP-ED: When we can finally breathe

OP-ED: When we can finally breathe

Saharin Priya Shaoun

Tue, Oct 6 2020

We hope for a day when there are no new rape statistics

ED: Tarnishing a storied legacy

ED: Tarnishing a storied legacy

Editorial

Tue, Sep 29 2020

The atrocities committed by BCL members within its ranks -- which include assault, rape, and murder --...

ED: BCL needs to police its ranks

ED: BCL needs to police its ranks

Editorial

Mon, Sep 28 2020

The lack of action has merely emboldened the perpetrators

ED: Zero tolerance for sexual...

ED: Zero tolerance for sexual...

Editorial

Sat, Sep 26 2020

While students in Sylhet have already taken to the streets demanding justice, this will unfortunately...

OP-ED: Will it ever stop?

OP-ED: Will it ever stop?

Julian Francis

Thu, Sep 24 2020

Incompetence and corruption rule our lives