• Friday, Jan 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:16 pm
Trump’s silences spoke volumes

Trump’s silences spoke volumes

Tania Karas

Fri, Sep 22 2017

Although the UN has termed it ethnic cleansing, Trump did not mention the Rohingya crisis at all

UN: Record number of states punishing...

UN: Record number of states punishing...

World

Thu, Sep 21 2017

The other 20 countries in the report were Algeria, Bahrain, Eritrea, Honduras, Iran, Israel, Mauritania,...

UN rights commissioner flays India over...

UN rights commissioner flays India over...

South Asia

Tue, Sep 12 2017

Gauri Lankesh, a journalist who tirelessly addressed the corrosive effect of sectarianism and hatred,...

Rohingya crisis fans communal tensions...

Rohingya crisis fans communal tensions...

South Asia

Mon, Sep 11 2017

Myanmar says its security forces are carrying out clearance operations to defend against ARSA

Satellite images show massive fire destruction...

Satellite images show massive fire destruction...

Law & Rights

Mon, Sep 4 2017

The satellite images, recorded on August 31, show the fires at the Muslim village Chein Khar Li in Rathedaung...

Villains of circumstance

Villains of circumstance

Opinion

Wed, Aug 30 2017

No one ever chooses to be radicalized

Bangladesh clarifies human rights...

Bangladesh clarifies human rights...

Law & Rights

Sat, Aug 26 2017

'Bangladesh has always endeavoured to remain alert and watchful to misperceptions about its human rights...

The world needs to get tough on...

The world needs to get tough on...

Opinion

Wed, Aug 23 2017

It is clear that what Myanmar is doing to the Rohingya people is nothing short of ethnic cleansing

Rights groups slam Indian plans to deport...

Rights groups slam Indian plans to deport...

South Asia

Fri, Aug 18 2017

India's junior home minister Kiren Rijiju told parliament last week the government had asked state authorities...

Nepal strengthens laws against dowry,...

Nepal strengthens laws against dowry,...

South Asia

Thu, Aug 10 2017

Chhaupadi, the ancient Hindu taboo, considers women as impure during their menstrual period and prohibits...

Colour within the lines

Colour within the lines

Abak Hussain

Sun, Jul 23 2017

Why is a ruling party religious affairs secretary so concerned about a child’s artwork?

The road to peace

The road to peace

Muhammad Zamir

Sat, Jul 22 2017

The OIC and its monitoring of human rights

Aduri gets justice

Aduri gets justice

Editorial

Wed, Jul 19 2017

It is a cause for hope for domestic workers everywhere

Against the tenets of humanity

Against the tenets of humanity

Shafiur Rahman , Shafiur Rahman

Thu, Jul 6 2017

Kutupalong is no place for refuge

Go easy on North Korea

Go easy on North Korea

Daniel R DePetris

Wed, Jun 28 2017

It was be unwise for the US to stop negotiating with Pyongyang

The shame of human trafficking

The shame of human trafficking

Editorial

Wed, Jun 28 2017

Bangladesh needs to protect its people, and right now it is failing to do so

CHRI: Bangladesh’s votes contradict...

CHRI: Bangladesh’s votes contradict...

Foreign Affairs

Thu, Jun 22 2017

The report said that Bangladesh either abstained from voting or voted against multiple resolutions that...

‘Rape is a crime of power to...

‘Rape is a crime of power to...

Law & Rights

Sun, May 21 2017

South Asian Coordinator for One Billion Rising Kamla Bhasin spoke at a conference on a number of human...

Police stations ill-equipped for sexual...

Police stations ill-equipped for sexual...

Crime

Fri, May 12 2017

There was no specific desk or department to deal with such cases because the station had limited...

Feel free to disagree

Feel free to disagree

Miti Sanjana

Wed, May 10 2017

Laws that curtail the freedom of speech do not help democracy

What is rape?

What is rape?

Law & Rights

Mon, May 8 2017

Rape is the forceful sexual penetration of another human being.