• Thursday, Sep 20, 2018
  • Last Update : 02:41 pm
The curious case of Tahmid

The curious case of Tahmid

Aaqib Md Shatil , Aaqib Md Shatil

Thu, Oct 6 2016

Despite evidence to the contrary, many jumped to conclusions and presumed his guilt

ASK: 150 custodial deaths in 9...

ASK: 150 custodial deaths in 9...

Law & Rights

Fri, Sep 30 2016

Of those killed extrajudicially, the highest 83 people died in police custody and 34 in RAB custody before...

Myanmar jails soldiers in rare move...

Myanmar jails soldiers in rare move...

World

Fri, Sep 16 2016

The fact they have been sentenced to imprisonment is better than nothing, an activist says

Destroying a way of life

Destroying a way of life

Babul Chakma , John Tripura

Thu, Sep 8 2016

We cannot destroy the protected lands in the CHT in the name of development and tourism

The world’s largest human rights...

The world’s largest human rights...

Climate Change

Thu, Aug 18 2016

If denying people access to fresh water, food, health services, and proper education all violate human...

MASUM: Release Bangladeshi trafficking...

MASUM: Release Bangladeshi trafficking...

Bangladesh

Fri, Jul 15 2016

In July last year, the Indian BSF sent back to Bangladesh 74 women victims of trafficking after they...

Begging the question

Begging the question

Editorial

Tue, Jun 28 2016

The government’s decision to make some areas of Dhaka city “beggar-free” zones is a commendable one....

Panelists: 70% cases unresolved despite...

Panelists: 70% cases unresolved despite...

Bangladesh

Tue, Jun 21 2016

Rights activists alleged that assistant commissioners (land) in district areas were marking lands as...

Stop criticising, unite against...

Stop criticising, unite against...

Longform

Thu, Jun 16 2016

The West needs to stop bossing around third world countries and start supporting them

The missing woman is far from being...

The missing woman is far from being...

Rumana Hashem

Tue, Jun 14 2016

Kalpana Chakma won’t come back, but the power of a missing woman remains

Will Kalpana ever come back?

Will Kalpana ever come back?

John Tripura

Mon, Jun 13 2016

It has been 20 years, but we have not forgotten her

NHRC chief: Tonu murder investigation...

NHRC chief: Tonu murder investigation...

Crime

Sun, May 15 2016

People are losing confidence in the country's justice system, says Dr Mizanur Rahman