• Friday, Oct 18, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:43 am
Going home is their right

Going home is their right

Bill Frelick

Fri, Nov 24 2017

But it’s not safe for Rohingya refugees, yet

This is not what good neighbours

This is not what good neighbours

Editorial

Mon, Nov 20 2017

How long will Myanmar hide behind hackneyed statements and false promises?

Canadian PM Trudeau raises rights issues...

Canadian PM Trudeau raises rights issues...

World

Tue, Nov 14 2017

Trudeau said that during his conversation with Duterte in Manila, he 'mentioned human rights, rule of...

The speech that gave birth to...

The speech that gave birth to...

Weekend Tribune

Wed, Nov 8 2017

Bangabandhu’s March 7 speech gets UNESCO recognition as world documentary heritage

Like women scorned

Like women scorned

Opinion

Mon, Oct 23 2017

The way we talk about suffering needs to change

What nightmares are made of

What nightmares are made of

Editorial

Sat, Oct 21 2017

The soldiers are sparing no one: From school girls to pregnant women, thousands of Rohingya women of...

The ugly  truth

The ugly truth

Uncategorized

Thu, Oct 19 2017

Myanmar can no longer keep lying to the world -- the world must come together and open its eyes to the...

UN report on Rohingya hunger crisis...

UN report on Rohingya hunger crisis...

South Asia

Tue, Oct 17 2017

The document warned of escalating food crisis among Rohingya population

Suu Kyi’s burden

Suu Kyi’s burden

Opinion

Mon, Oct 16 2017

How much of the atrocity against the Rohingya is taking place with her consent?

Trump’s silences spoke volumes

Trump’s silences spoke volumes

Tania Karas

Fri, Sep 22 2017

Although the UN has termed it ethnic cleansing, Trump did not mention the Rohingya crisis at all

UN: Record number of states punishing...

UN: Record number of states punishing...

World

Thu, Sep 21 2017

The other 20 countries in the report were Algeria, Bahrain, Eritrea, Honduras, Iran, Israel, Mauritania,...

UN rights commissioner flays India over...

UN rights commissioner flays India over...

South Asia

Tue, Sep 12 2017

Gauri Lankesh, a journalist who tirelessly addressed the corrosive effect of sectarianism and hatred,...

Rohingya crisis fans communal tensions...

Rohingya crisis fans communal tensions...

South Asia

Mon, Sep 11 2017

Myanmar says its security forces are carrying out clearance operations to defend against ARSA

Satellite images show massive fire destruction...

Satellite images show massive fire destruction...

Law & Rights

Mon, Sep 4 2017

The satellite images, recorded on August 31, show the fires at the Muslim village Chein Khar Li in Rathedaung...

Villains of circumstance

Villains of circumstance

Opinion

Wed, Aug 30 2017

No one ever chooses to be radicalized

Bangladesh clarifies human rights...

Bangladesh clarifies human rights...

Law & Rights

Sat, Aug 26 2017

'Bangladesh has always endeavoured to remain alert and watchful to misperceptions about its human rights...

The world needs to get tough on...

The world needs to get tough on...

Opinion

Wed, Aug 23 2017

It is clear that what Myanmar is doing to the Rohingya people is nothing short of ethnic cleansing

Rights groups slam Indian plans to deport...

Rights groups slam Indian plans to deport...

South Asia

Fri, Aug 18 2017

India's junior home minister Kiren Rijiju told parliament last week the government had asked state authorities...

Nepal strengthens laws against dowry,...

Nepal strengthens laws against dowry,...

South Asia

Thu, Aug 10 2017

Chhaupadi, the ancient Hindu taboo, considers women as impure during their menstrual period and prohibits...

Colour within the lines

Colour within the lines

Abak Hussain

Sun, Jul 23 2017

Why is a ruling party religious affairs secretary so concerned about a child’s artwork?

The road to peace

The road to peace

Muhammad Zamir

Sat, Jul 22 2017

The OIC and its monitoring of human rights