• Saturday, Sep 22, 2018
  • Last Update : 11:19 am
DMP arrests 97 in anti-narcotics drive...

DMP arrests 97 in anti-narcotics drive...

Crime

Sun, May 27 2018

Around 100 people including eight women were arrested, police said

Housewife in Hazaribagh suffers acid...

Housewife in Hazaribagh suffers acid...

Crime

Mon, Apr 2 2018

She was admitted to Dhaka Medical College Hospital's (DMCH) Burn and Plastic Surgery Unit for...

RAB arrests 3 social media con artists...

RAB arrests 3 social media con artists...

Crime

Thu, Feb 22 2018

The elite force has recovered a foreign-made pistol, three rounds of bullets, ATM cards, chequebooks...

Torun's body buried at home in...

Torun's body buried at home in...

Nation

Thu, Feb 15 2018

It is suspected that Torun committed suicide out of depression

DU student found dead at

DU student found dead at

Dhaka

Wed, Feb 14 2018

His friends, classmates and roommates could not confirm how he ended up there

'Removal of Hazaribagh tannery cut Buriganga...

'Removal of Hazaribagh tannery cut Buriganga...

Dhaka

Sat, Sep 23 2017

Dhaka Water Supply and Sewerage Authority (DWASA) has been asked to prevent pollution and remove wastes...

Tanneries move, waste doesn’t

Tanneries move, waste doesn’t

Environment

Sun, Aug 20 2017

The bulk of the waste has remained there for the last five months as no authority has taken any initiative...

Housewife commits suicide over sexual...

Housewife commits suicide over sexual...

Crime

Thu, May 4 2017

Mousumi committed suicide as she failed to tolerate the stalkers

Above the law

Above the law

M Shamsul Haque

Tue, Apr 25 2017

Judicial activism has an important role to play

A messy transition

A messy transition

Editorial

Mon, Apr 10 2017

While the owners have long been uncooperative, the government is also not holding up its end of the...

The long road to cleaning it up

The long road to cleaning it up

Business Tribune

Sun, Apr 9 2017

A long-dead Belarussian economist can explain a few things about Hazaribagh

Power, gas connections cut off in Hazaribagh...

Power, gas connections cut off in Hazaribagh...

Dhaka

Sat, Apr 8 2017

At the Hazaribagh area, most tanneries were kept closed because of the power supply cut

The Hazaribagh makeover: From tanneries...

The Hazaribagh makeover: From tanneries...

Development

Wed, Mar 22 2017

The Ministry of Industries is already working on mapping out the future of Hazaribagh and the popular...

Hazaribagh fire guts 80 shanties

Hazaribagh fire guts 80 shanties

Dhaka

Tue, Mar 7 2017

At least 80 tin-shed shanties were gutted in a fire that broke out in a Hazaribagh area in Dhaka Tuesday...

HC: Shut down Hazaribagh tanneries...

HC: Shut down Hazaribagh tanneries...

Court

Mon, Mar 6 2017

The High Court has ordered the government to shut down all 154 tanneries in Hazaribagh, Dhaka and disconnect...

High Court orders 154 tanneries to pay...

High Court orders 154 tanneries to pay...

Environment

Thu, Mar 2 2017

The factories’ owners will have to face serious consequences if they fail to pay the compensation in...

Is Savar becoming the next...

Is Savar becoming the next...

Dhaka

Sat, Feb 4 2017

During a programme titled “Shifting tanneries into Savar: Dhaleshwari will not become like Buriganga,”...

SC: Shut down plants using tannery waste...

SC: Shut down plants using tannery waste...

Bangladesh

Thu, Dec 8 2016

The Supreme Court yesterday upheld a High Court verdict that had asked to shut down factories that are...

4 burnt in Hazaribagh gas stove...

4 burnt in Hazaribagh gas stove...

Uncategorized

Thu, Dec 1 2016

The identity of the injured could not be known immediately.

Hazaribagh still waiting to be

Hazaribagh still waiting to be

Dhaka

Sat, Oct 15 2016

With its miserable state of streets and outdated waste management along with poor drainage and sewerage...

SC orders Hazaribagh tanneries to pay...

SC orders Hazaribagh tanneries to pay...

Bangladesh

Tue, Jul 19 2016

The Supreme Court revised the daily fine reducing it from Tk50,000, which was fixed by the High Court....