• Saturday, Aug 24, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:54 pm
A travesty of governance

A travesty of governance

Mahmudur Rahman

Thu, Aug 1 2019

Is our infrastructure doomed to crumble under its own weight?

Empowering local governance

Empowering local governance

Editorial

Thu, Jul 11 2019

Local government institutions in Bangladesh are hampered by limited decision-making and financial...

Complaints of noise fall on deaf...

Complaints of noise fall on deaf...

D2

Wed, Jun 12 2019

Loud construction at night causes disquiet in Dhaka as no one takes responsibility

How democratic is India really?

How democratic is India really?

Mithun Dey

Mon, May 6 2019

The Lok Sabha elections need to be free and fair

The future of energy security

The future of energy security

Shafiqul Alam

Thu, Apr 18 2019

It’s time to turn our attention to renewable sources of energy

Getting rid of corruption

Getting rid of corruption

Muhammad Zamir

Sun, Feb 17 2019

Ensuring accountability and good governance

Jamaat remains beyond the pale

Jamaat remains beyond the pale

Editorial

Sun, Feb 17 2019

Jamaat’s role in 1971 makes its continued presence hard to justify

Democracy, development, and denial

Democracy, development, and denial

Sheikh Nahid Neazy

Tue, Jan 22 2019

Elections cannot guarantee democracy -- good governance must be ensured

If wishes were politicians

If wishes were politicians

Qamrul Huda

Mon, Dec 24 2018

Strong governance is needed for a prosperous future

One step forward, one step back

One step forward, one step back

Luba Khalili

Thu, Sep 27 2018

Keeping alive the hope that the power of the people is still here

Does Malaysia have a friend in...

Does Malaysia have a friend in...

Muhammad Zamir

Sat, Sep 22 2018

Malaysia may need to tread carefully

The EU’s best option?

The EU’s best option?

John Lloyd

Sat, Sep 15 2018

The ideals of a more united European Union demand clarity

A nation of sheep?

A nation of sheep?

Zarif Faiaz

Thu, Aug 16 2018

Perhaps people don’t want real change

Choose your words wisely

Choose your words wisely

Abak Hussain

Sat, Aug 11 2018

When citizens aren’t allowed to have an opinion, the country doesn’t have a leg to stand...

There are ways, there are means

There are ways, there are means

Syed Badrul Ahsan

Wed, Aug 8 2018

How to handle a student protest

Quota reform and the integrity  of the...

Quota reform and the integrity of the...

Esam Sohail

Fri, Jul 27 2018

A spectacular opportunity exists for public university governing bodies

To all citizens equally

To all citizens equally

Anupam Debashis Roy

Wed, Jul 11 2018

Everyone has the right to due process

Music is worth living for

Music is worth living for

Rubaiyat Kabir

Wed, Jul 11 2018

Let us all be grateful that we still have music to help us through tough times

A great responsibility

A great responsibility

Ekram Kabir

Sat, Jun 2 2018

A quick-buck mentality is not good for the education sector

Corruption is the enemy of...

Corruption is the enemy of...

Tasmiah Nuhiya Ahmed

Wed, Apr 18 2018

Corruption must be a punishable offense not just on paper, but in practice

Modi vs federalism

Modi vs federalism

Mani Shankar Aiyar

Wed, Mar 21 2018

For India, is ‘cooperative federalism’ nothing more than a slogan?