• Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018
  • Last Update : 01:44 am
Ilish production increases by 66% in...

Ilish production increases by 66% in...

Business

Tue, Nov 6 2018

More than 1.15% of Bangladesh’s GDP derives from ilish production

Farming for the future

Farming for the future

Editorial

Fri, Oct 26 2018

A lack of modern technology and trained human capital has held our agricultural sector back from reaching...

Let’s not kill the golden goose

Let’s not kill the golden goose

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Oct 26 2018

More needs to be done to free up the country’s telecom sector

Skilled and ready

Skilled and ready

Editorial

Fri, Oct 19 2018

With a burgeoning population of youth willing to contribute to the economy, it is important to create...

Meeting our goals

Meeting our goals

Editorial

Thu, Oct 4 2018

It feels we have truly turned a page, where stories of our remarkable progress and growth are an everyday...

Bangladesh on the up

Bangladesh on the up

Editorial

Wed, Oct 3 2018

Removing institutional barriers to doing business would free up the private sector

FY19: World Bank projects 7% growth...

FY19: World Bank projects 7% growth...

Economy

Tue, Oct 2 2018

The projection comes from the World Bank’s, ‘Bangladesh Development Update: Powering the...

Promising numbers

Promising numbers

Editorial

Thu, Sep 27 2018

Such growth numbers are a very encouraging sign that we are on the right track

The next hot spot for apparel...

The next hot spot for apparel...

Opinion

Wed, Aug 8 2018

We need to actively pursue opportunities to further our textile manufacturing capabilities

Bangladesh’s tax revenue to GDP ratio...

Bangladesh’s tax revenue to GDP ratio...

Business

Thu, Aug 2 2018

The committee was sitting at the 25th meeting presided over by Chairperson Dr Md Abdur Razzaque at the...

Exports show the way

Exports show the way

Editorial

Tue, Jul 17 2018

It is through diversification that we will reach our full potential

Consistency is key

Consistency is key

Opinion

Tue, Jul 10 2018

The difficulty of doing business still remains a thorn on our nation’s side

DG ACC: 2% more GDP growth if corruption...

2% more GDP growth if corruption...

Economy

Mon, Jul 2 2018

The Deputy Commissioner called upon government officials and employees to properly render services to...

Health and education  are worth spending...

Health and education are worth spending...

Editorial

Sat, Jun 30 2018

These two sectors combined are the bedrock on which a nation’s progress is made

In need of reform

In need of reform

Editorial

Fri, Jun 29 2018

A necessary step forward would be introducing automation into the process

Bangladesh’s tax gap to GDP ratio highest...

Bangladesh’s tax gap to GDP ratio highest...

Business

Thu, Jun 28 2018

Bhutan is in second position behind Bangladesh with a 6.7% gap, while the gaps in Afghanistan and Maldives...

A nation on the rise

A nation on the rise

Editorial

Mon, Jun 4 2018

We have outshone our neighbours, improving in social indicators such as child mortality rate

On the verge of  a new record

On the verge of a new record

Opinion

Mon, Apr 9 2018

It is only by providing opportunities for the people that we can say we have succeeded as a nation

Our dynamic relationship with...

Our dynamic relationship with...

Opinion

Fri, Apr 6 2018

'We’d expect to have moved from increased-input-only growth to increased-productivity growth – meaning...

Banking sector inefficiency causes 1%...

Banking sector inefficiency causes 1%...

Banks

Wed, Apr 4 2018

The study said, the amount of the annual loss is equivalent to 10,000 crore of fiscal year

Like no other

Like no other

Opinion

Thu, Mar 22 2018

In the 48th year of our independence, could there have been a better indicator of how far we have come...