• Thursday, Aug 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 10:49 am
Modernizing our railways

Modernizing our railways

Editorial

Thu, Jul 18 2019

The government’s vision to introduce electric, high-speed trains in the near-future will no doubt...

The dream of digital

The dream of digital

Editorial

Thu, Jun 20 2019

Our country is well on its way towards achieving its digital dreams

Budget FY2019-20: More futuristic than...

Budget FY2019-20: More futuristic than...

Economy

Fri, Jun 14 2019

Key features include: New VAT act, money whitening facility, wealth tax, incentives for capital...

A budget in the middle

A budget in the middle

Editorial

Thu, Jun 13 2019

At the end of the day, what we have is a budget that encourages businesses

Taking care of migrants

Taking care of migrants

Editorial

Sun, May 26 2019

It is our duty to protect our citizens

On the road to prosperity

On the road to prosperity

Editorial

Wed, May 15 2019

Indeed, what is needed now more than ever is the sense of urgency

An acrimonious election

An acrimonious election

Sarwar Jahan Chowdhury

Wed, May 15 2019

The real issues have largely been obscured by the Indian media

Let’s make workplaces safe for...

Let’s make workplaces safe for...

Asif Imran Khan

Tue, May 14 2019

Workplace culture is not the only thing that needs to change 

Activists seek inclusion of household...

Activists seek inclusion of household...

Event

Fri, Apr 12 2019

Household work that is mostly done by women will get proper evaluation only when it is recognized by...

The next Asian powerhouse

The next Asian powerhouse

Editorial

Thu, Apr 4 2019

Diversifying our export basket further will increase the resilience of our exporting sector

No matter how small the risk

No matter how small the risk

Editorial

Mon, Apr 1 2019

To become a middle-income nation, merely increasing the amount of money we have is not enough

Shahab Uddin: Climate change may eat...

Shahab Uddin: Climate change may eat...

Parliament

Sun, Mar 10 2019

The minister said this is likely if the international community fails to take effective measures to cope...

Bangladesh rising

Bangladesh rising

Editorial

Mon, Dec 24 2018

Our economy has survived and thrived as a result of our ability to tap into various areas and fields...

BNP vows to allocate 5% of GDP for...

BNP vows to allocate 5% of GDP for...

Election

Tue, Dec 18 2018

Study loans at low interest rates will be provided for children of low-income families

Study: Climate change could cost US...

Study: Climate change could cost US...

Climate Change

Sat, Nov 24 2018

The effects will spill over into global trade

The election and the city

The election and the city

SM Mehedi Ahsan

Sat, Nov 17 2018

A view of the upcoming election from an urban planning perspective

Some encouraging signs

Some encouraging signs

Editorial

Tue, Nov 13 2018

Broadening the tax base is absolutely vital for efficient governance

Ilish production increases by 66% in...

Ilish production increases by 66% in...

Business

Tue, Nov 6 2018

More than 1.15% of Bangladesh’s GDP derives from ilish production

Farming for the future

Farming for the future

Editorial

Fri, Oct 26 2018

A lack of modern technology and trained human capital has held our agricultural sector back from reaching...

Let’s not kill the golden goose

Let’s not kill the golden goose

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Oct 26 2018

More needs to be done to free up the country’s telecom sector

Skilled and ready

Skilled and ready

Editorial

Fri, Oct 19 2018

With a burgeoning population of youth willing to contribute to the economy, it is important to create...