• Tuesday, Dec 01, 2020
  • Last Update : 04:21 am
ED: Growing despite all odds

ED: Growing despite all odds

Editorial

Mon, Nov 23 2020

It is a testament to the tenacity of the country and its people

'India's economy to return to normal...

India's economy to return to normal...

Business

Thu, Nov 19 2020

Businesses have opened up and economic activity has picked up in India after one of the world’s...

German President lauds Bangladesh's...

German President lauds Bangladesh's...

Coronavirus

Thu, Nov 12 2020

Dhaka seeks Berlin's support over Rohingya issue

OP-ED: Is GDP a useful measure?

OP-ED: Is GDP a useful measure?

Tim Worstall

Sun, Nov 8 2020

It’s not perfect, but it’s the best one we have

Indonesia suffers first recession in...

Indonesia suffers first recession in...

Business

Thu, Nov 5 2020

Gross domestic product (GDP) shrank by a slightly more than expected 3.49% year-on-year as household...

Keeping girls in school is worth...

Keeping girls in school is worth...

World

Tue, Oct 27 2020

More than 11 million may not return to classes after the pandemic, Unesco says

OP-ED: How grateful is India?

OP-ED: How grateful is India?

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Oct 16 2020

Our neighbouring nation should have had a more mature attitude after all these years

ED: Bangladesh economy continues to...

ED: Bangladesh economy continues to...

Editorial

Fri, Oct 16 2020

We must remember to constantly innovate and diversify

GDP growth: Rahul attacks govt as IMF...

Rahul attacks Indian govt over IMF forecast...

South Asia

Thu, Oct 15 2020

The International Monetary Fund has estimated that India’s per capita GDP is likely to shrink 10.3%...

Commercial ilish farming not a viable...

Commercial ilish farming not a viable...

Bangladesh

Wed, Oct 14 2020

As ilish population keeps declining gradually, Dhaka Tribune's Bilkis Irani takes a look at...

World Bank: Bangladesh's GDP growth...

Bangladesh's GDP better than South Asian...

Bangladesh

Thu, Oct 8 2020

Private consumption growth is likely to remain subdued with depressed wage income and a decline in remittance...

Salman: Economic diplomacy to continue...

'Economic diplomacy will go on with...

Business

Wed, Sep 30 2020

Bangladesh, US hold first ever high-level economic partnership consultation

OP-ED: The human catastrophe of...

OP-ED: The human catastrophe of...

Raqibul Mohammad Anwar

Tue, Sep 22 2020

Benevolence must be the principal determinant of any battle plan

ADB forecasts strong recovery for Bangladesh...

ADB forecasts strong recovery for Bangladesh...

Economy

Tue, Sep 15 2020

GDP to grow by 6.8% buoyed by exports

Report: Asia, Pacific regions contributed...

Report: Asia, Pacific regions contributed...

World

Thu, Sep 10 2020

However, the Covid-19 pandemic is threatening the gains with rising unemployment and falling income,...

Australia enters recession after 3 decades...

Australia enters recession after 3 decades...

Oceania

Wed, Sep 2 2020

Australia's economy shrank 0.3% in the previous three months 

OP-ED: Does GDP tell the truth?

OP-ED: Does GDP tell the truth?

Tim Worstall

Sun, Aug 23 2020

The structure of how the number is calculated makes it a poor guide

Govt plans big to upgrade road...

Govt plans big to upgrade road...

Development

Mon, Aug 17 2020

The government has taken a mid-term plan to upgrade all the national highways of the country to four-lane...

Bangladesh economy to recover faster...

Bangladesh economy to recover faster...

Economy

Sun, Aug 16 2020

Many of Bangladesh’s South Asian peers and other countries around the world are in negative growth...

Bangladesh’s per capita income rises...

Bangladesh’s per capita income rises...

Economy

Tue, Aug 11 2020

GDP growth narrows to 5.24% in FY2019-20, lowest in 12 years

Study: Coastal flooding could hit 20%...

Study: Coastal flooding could hit 20%...

World

Fri, Jul 31 2020

'Flood events that have typically occurred once in 100 years could occur as frequently as once in...