• Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018
  • Last Update : 07:48 pm
The constraints of freedom

The constraints of freedom

Luba Khalili

Thu, Nov 15 2018

Oppression comes in many layers

Is anyone policing the thought...

Is anyone policing the thought...

Zubier Abdullah

Sun, Nov 11 2018

The answers to that question could shake the bedrock of our country

Curtain falls on DLF

Curtain falls on DLF

Editorial

Sat, Nov 10 2018

This highlights the need for freedom of speech, and a safe place where writers, thinkers, academics,...

On the eve of a silent age

On the eve of a silent age

SN Rasul

Mon, Oct 29 2018

Words are no longer spoken, but chosen

Media is not the enemy

Media is not the enemy

Editorial

Tue, Oct 16 2018

Quite simply, the law is too broadly written, and opens up much potential for abuse

The less we say the better

The less we say the better

Qazi Mustabeen Noor

Thu, Oct 11 2018

Silence is golden in these challenging times

Solving the wrong problem

Solving the wrong problem

Opinion

Sat, Sep 29 2018

Mainstream media is not the enemy, and cracking down on journalists does a disservice to our...

Diplomats voice concern over Digital...

Diplomats voice concern over Digital...

Bangladesh

Thu, Sep 27 2018

They urge the government to continue consultations on this law and pursue the commitments taken during...

Concerns voiced about Digital Security...

Concerns voiced about Digital Security...

Law & Rights

Thu, Sep 20 2018

'The government must revert its course from this regressive law, that compromises its international...

Mainstream media is not the enemy

Mainstream media is not the enemy

Editorial

Thu, Sep 20 2018

It seems that many of the problems of Section 57 of the ICT Act will simply recur under a new name

A slippery slope, or a stepping...

A slippery slope, or a stepping...

SN Rasul

Thu, Sep 20 2018

Our myopia regarding press freedom requires a cure

Choose your words wisely

Choose your words wisely

Abak Hussain

Sat, Aug 11 2018

When citizens aren’t allowed to have an opinion, the country doesn’t have a leg to stand...

Hoping for better days to come

Hoping for better days to come

Tasmiah Nuhiya Ahmed

Wed, Aug 8 2018

Let us make sure due process is followed at all times

A shrinking space

A shrinking space

Opinion

Fri, Jul 6 2018

Differing voices cannot be met with violence every time

Minister: Government taking Digital...

Minister: Government taking Digital...

Law & Rights

Wed, May 2 2018

'The proposed act is meant for controlling digital crimes. Not to curtail freedom of the press,' says...

US: Significant limitations on freedom...

US: Significant limitations on freedom...

Law and Rights

Sat, Apr 21 2018

With innumerable cases of the government suppressing any criticism of its actions, press freedom in Bangladesh...

The anti-social network

The anti-social network

Raihan Rahman Rafid

Tue, Mar 20 2018

Does social media give way to a lack of compassion?

Nepal newspaper due in court for case...

Nepal newspaper due in court for case...

South Asia

Fri, Mar 2 2018

Multiple news outlets have carried reports that the chief justice's official documents show as many as...

The Bangladesh digital paradox

The Bangladesh digital paradox

Opinion

Sun, Feb 11 2018

What do draconian laws such as the DSA say about the state of Digital Bangladesh?

Where are our freedoms?

Where are our freedoms?

Opinion

Thu, Feb 8 2018

Freedom of expression is an inalienable right

Mohammed bin Salman’s  lessons for...

Mohammed bin Salman’s lessons for...

Opinion

Fri, Feb 2 2018

If Saudi Arabia can move in a more progressive direction, why not us?