• Wednesday, Sep 19, 2018
  • Last Update : 10:55 am
Choose your words wisely

Choose your words wisely

Abak Hussain

Sat, Aug 11 2018

When citizens aren’t allowed to have an opinion, the country doesn’t have a leg to stand...

Hoping for better days to come

Hoping for better days to come

Tasmiah Nuhiya Ahmed

Wed, Aug 8 2018

Let us make sure due process is followed at all times

A shrinking space

A shrinking space

Opinion

Fri, Jul 6 2018

Differing voices cannot be met with violence every time

Minister: Government taking Digital...

Minister: Government taking Digital...

Law & Rights

Wed, May 2 2018

'The proposed act is meant for controlling digital crimes. Not to curtail freedom of the press,' says...

US: Significant limitations on freedom...

US: Significant limitations on freedom...

Law and Rights

Sat, Apr 21 2018

With innumerable cases of the government suppressing any criticism of its actions, press freedom in Bangladesh...

The anti-social network

The anti-social network

Raihan Rahman Rafid

Tue, Mar 20 2018

Does social media give way to a lack of compassion?

Nepal newspaper due in court for case...

Nepal newspaper due in court for case...

South Asia

Fri, Mar 2 2018

Multiple news outlets have carried reports that the chief justice's official documents show as many as...

The Bangladesh digital paradox

The Bangladesh digital paradox

Opinion

Sun, Feb 11 2018

What do draconian laws such as the DSA say about the state of Digital Bangladesh?

Where are our freedoms?

Where are our freedoms?

Opinion

Thu, Feb 8 2018

Freedom of expression is an inalienable right

Mohammed bin Salman’s  lessons for...

Mohammed bin Salman’s lessons for...

Opinion

Fri, Feb 2 2018

If Saudi Arabia can move in a more progressive direction, why not us?

TIB calls for amendments to draft Digital...

TIB calls for amendments to draft Digital...

Law & Rights

Thu, Feb 1 2018

Due to the scope for defamation, fraud and misuse by spying and intelligence, it will threaten the people’s...

Section 57, DSA, and the spirit of...

Section 57, DSA, and the spirit of...

Opinion

Wed, Jan 31 2018

The Digital Security Act is cause for justified alarm

Rising above the banning culture

Rising above the banning culture

Ekram Kabir , Ekram Kabir

Fri, Jan 26 2018

We need to move beyond short-term solutions

TIB sounds caution against cybercrime...

TIB sounds caution against cybercrime...

Bangladesh

Fri, Jan 12 2018

The Cyber Crime Investigation Bureau has already been approved by the Ministry of Home Affairs

The place of political correctness and...

The place of political correctness and...

Magazine

Fri, Nov 10 2017

Freedom of speech in a politically correct world

Down the rabbit hole

Down the rabbit hole

Weekend Tribune

Mon, Oct 16 2017

A first-person account of the man behind the Playboy empire

When words threaten

When words threaten

Santa Islam

Thu, Sep 28 2017

We need better laws to protect our freedom of speech

Please don’t abuse the law

Please don’t abuse the law

Opinion

Thu, Aug 3 2017

We must have mechanisms in place to make sure the act is used judiciously

Newspaper owners for scrapping Section...

Newspaper owners for scrapping Section...

Bangladesh

Mon, Jul 24 2017

'Section 57 an attack not only on the freedom of expression but also on the newspaper industry'

Colour within the lines

Colour within the lines

Abak Hussain

Sun, Jul 23 2017

Why is a ruling party religious affairs secretary so concerned about a child’s artwork?

Editors want Section 57 abolished for...

Editors want Section 57 abolished for...

Bangladesh

Fri, Jul 21 2017

Newspaper editors, under the platform, said they are worried about the Section 19 of the draft law that...