• Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018
  • Last Update : 01:44 am
'You better pray:' More flooding in...

More flooding in Carolinas a week after...

North America

Sat, Sep 22 2018

Thirty-one deaths have been attributed to the storm in North Carolina, eight in South Carolina and one...

God’s own country

God’s own country

Makshudul Alom Mokul Mondal

Wed, Sep 5 2018

Kerala stands as a symbol of interfaith harmony

Rainstorms kill 49 in northern...

Rainstorms kill 49 in northern...

South Asia

Sat, Jul 28 2018

The torrential rains have also hit New Delhi and the western state of Rajasthan that is popular with...

15 dead in monsoon floods, landslides...

15 dead in monsoon floods, landslides...

South Asia

Wed, Jul 11 2018

In Maharashtra, 62 people have died since June due to flooding and landslides

Floods take heavy toll in...

Floods take heavy toll in...

Nation

Sat, Jun 23 2018

Numerous potholes and puddles have developed on roads constructed by the Roads and Highways Department...

River waters recede in Moulvibazar,...

River waters recede in Moulvibazar,...

Nation

Thu, Jun 21 2018

The Kushiara River was flowing 118 cm above the danger level at Fenchuganj Bazar on Wednesday

Landslides, flash floods as monsoon...

Landslides, flash floods as monsoon...

South Asia

Mon, Jun 18 2018

Rains triggered a landslide that damaged the hilltop Kyeik Than Lan pagoda, whose golden stupa towers...

Heavy monsoon rains upstream trigger...

Heavy rains upstream trigger

Environment

Sun, Jun 17 2018

It is normal in the monsoon season, a Flood Forecasting and Warning Centre official says

Bangladesh begins relocating Rohingya...

Bangladesh begins relocating Rohingya...

South Asia

Tue, Apr 3 2018

Bangladesh had allocated roughly 3,500 acres of forested land in Cox's Bazar to the newly-arrived Rohingya...

As floods rise in Bangladesh, crab farming...

As floods rise in Bangladesh, crab farming...

Bangladesh

Sun, Mar 18 2018

Some experts, however, warn that crab farming may not be enough to sustain families in increasingly risk-prone...

Floods, landslides kill 37 in Vietnam,...

Floods, landslides kill 37 in Vietnam,...

World

Thu, Oct 12 2017

Vietnam has been hard hit by severe weather this year

Women and the climate plunder

Women and the climate plunder

Asif Hassan

Sat, Sep 30 2017

How can we protect women in the event of climate disasters?

Want to avoid city flooding? Save our...

Want to avoid city flooding? Save our...

Editorial

Tue, Sep 12 2017

Within only 40 years, Dhaka city has lost around 10 canals to encroachment and unplanned garbage...

Thousands hit by malaria, dengue as...

Thousands hit by malaria, dengue as...

South Asia

Thu, Sep 7 2017

About 13,000 people are ill with diarrhea and respiratory infections in densely populated Bangladesh...

Being United distributes relief in Gaibandha,...

Being United distributes relief in Gaibandha,...

Nation

Thu, Aug 31 2017

Being United has long been working to provide aid to the poor and underprivileged in the society

Going under water

Going under water

Opinion

Thu, Aug 24 2017

Relief-work alone is not enough to tackle Bangladesh’s flood problem

Nearly 600 dead in South Asia...

Nearly 600 dead in South Asia...

South Asia

Sun, Aug 20 2017

At least a hundred people have died in Bangladesh with close to six million affected by the floods

Prices of sacrificial cattle may soar...

Prices of sacrificial cattle may soar...

Nation

Sat, Aug 19 2017

Ongoing floods may create an obstacle to transporting cattle to markets across the country

70 dead, dozens missing, in monsoon...

70 dead, dozens missing, in monsoon...

South Asia

Sun, Aug 13 2017

Nepal's weather department warned that heavy rain was expected to continue for another day, following...

Escaping Mother Nature’s wrath

Escaping Mother Nature’s wrath

ABM Mushfiq-uz-Zaman

Wed, Jul 26 2017

When it comes to flooding, it is the poor who suffer the most

17 members of same family found dead...

17 members of same family found dead...

South Asia

Wed, Jul 26 2017

Prime Minister Narendra Modi surveyed the devastation across Gujarat from the skies Tuesday, urging people...