• Thursday, Dec 09, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:46 am
ED: An alerting system that could save...

ED: An alerting system that could save...

Editorial

Wed, Oct 27 2021

An effective digital forecasting and warning system has been a long time coming

PM Hasina asks officials to tackle...

PM Hasina asks officials to tackle...

Bangladesh

Mon, Sep 6 2021

The prime minister advises everyone to be prepared as water levels in the Padma and the Jamuna river...

OP-ED: Why is Bangladesh so prone to...

OP-ED: Why is Bangladesh so prone to...

Ashik Iqbal

Mon, Aug 30 2021

In Bangladesh, proper flood management has become a crying need

Flood situation deteriorates in Brahmaputra...

Flood situation worsening in Brahmaputra...

Nation

Sun, Aug 29 2021

Hundreds of homes submerged in floodwater with thousands suffering

Extremists reign in Bangladeshi...

Extremist content is flooding Bangladesh...

Bangladesh

Mon, Aug 16 2021

There is not a single official platform to counter the propaganda narratives of extremist groups, only...

ED: Ensuring water security in a post-Covid...

ED: Ensuring water security in a post-Covid...

Editorial

Sun, Jun 27 2021

Ensuring water security will require global cooperation

Patuakhali 3 MP demands dam in his...

Patuakhali 3 MP demands dam in his...

Parliament

Wed, Jun 16 2021

He pressed home the demand by wearing a placard around his neck

CSOs, MPs demand 15,000C for coastal...

CSOs, MPs demand 15,000C for coastal...

Bangladesh

Sat, Jun 12 2021

Budget allocation for embankment construction is insufficient, they say

OP-ED: How to protect Dhaka from...

OP-ED: How to protect Dhaka from...

Md Rashed Chowdhury

Wed, Jun 9 2021

The nuts and bolts of what we need to do

Bangladesh avoids brunt of Yaas

Bangladesh avoids brunt of Yaas

Nation

Wed, May 26 2021

Nine coastal districts suffer tidal surges

OP-ED: The story of flooding in the...

OP-ED: The story of flooding in the...

Vivek Menezes

Fri, Dec 4 2020

Even leaving aside climate change, we can expect a higher frequency of flooding in the future

ED: Fix the waterlogging problem before...

ED: Fix the waterlogging problem before...

Editorial

Sat, Nov 28 2020

It is hoped that the first order of business for the city corporations would be to rescue our

Flooding continues to improve across...

Flooding continues to improve across...

Nation

Mon, Aug 10 2020

The water level of the rivers around Dhaka decreased on Monday and it will continue to fall for the next...

ED: Next time, we must do better

ED: Next time, we must do better

Editorial

Thu, Jul 16 2020

We must deal with this ongoing crisis with the utmost seriousness

OP-ED: Dealing with a dual

OP-ED: Dealing with a dual

Md Rashed Chowdhury

Mon, Jun 1 2020

Amid the Covid-19 pandemic, dealing with floods will prove to be a bigger challenge

9 killed in floods in Indonesia's...

9 killed in floods in Indonesia's...

Asia Pacific

Wed, Jan 1 2020

City authorities have in the last few years sought to improve low-lying Jakarta’s vulnerability...

Don’t drink the water

Don’t drink the water

Abak Hussain

Sun, Oct 6 2019

Why our water-logging problem never gets solved

In known waters

In known waters

Opinion

Wed, Oct 2 2019

Residents of Dhaka should not have to suffer like this due to the negligence of our administration

Clean and green

Clean and green

Editorial

Fri, Sep 20 2019

Investing in green financing and eco-friendly technology is the way forward

At least 5 killed in southeast Spain...

At least 5 killed in southeast Spain...

Europe

Sun, Sep 15 2019

Floods swept away cars and debris in the regions of Valencia, Murcia and eastern Andalucia

A preview of things to come?

A preview of things to come?

Shafayat Nazam Rasul

Thu, Jul 11 2019

How higher sea levels and king tides will affect Bangladesh’s coastal regions