• Tuesday, Aug 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:11 am
Do you care about the budget?

Do you care about the budget?

AHM Mustafizur Rahman

Wed, Jun 19 2019

After all, it’s more fun to watch the cricket

How policy capture works

How policy capture works

Akhtar Mahmood

Fri, Jun 14 2019

We need to make our policy systems privilege-resistant 

A budget in the middle

A budget in the middle

Editorial

Thu, Jun 13 2019

At the end of the day, what we have is a budget that encourages businesses

Where will China go from here?

Where will China go from here?

Muhammad Zamir

Sun, Apr 21 2019

Economic expectations from the Asian giant

The hidden cost  of inflation

The hidden cost of inflation

Shafayat Nazam Rasul

Fri, Mar 15 2019

What can we, as consumers, do to combat its effects?

Making reforms meaningful

Making reforms meaningful

Mamun Rashid

Fri, Mar 15 2019

We need our reforms to be long-lasting and less nebulous for the common people

The last ten years

The last ten years

Mamun Rashid

Sun, Dec 23 2018

Looking back at the economics of Finance Minister AMA Muhith

Wickremesinghe's party vows to take...

Wickremesinghe's party vows to take...

South Asia

Mon, Nov 26 2018

Wickremesinghe's United National Party (UNP) said it would call a parliamentary vote this week to...

Please stop coddling state-owned...

Please stop coddling state-owned...

Editorial

Thu, Nov 8 2018

Time and again, our government keeps bailing out these loss-making institutions, straining the public...

Financial institutions urged to provide...

Financial institutions urged to provide...

Development

Tue, Oct 23 2018

The call comes at a workshop on delivering digital financial services to women

PM: I went for Padma Bridge despite...

PM: I went for Padma Bridge despite...

Bangladesh

Sat, Oct 20 2018

The prime minister addressed the point at a conference of teachers of public universities at Bangabandhu...

Don’t bank on it

Don’t bank on it

Editorial

Mon, Oct 15 2018

We urge the government to hold the public banks to the same standards as private banks

A critical mass

A critical mass

Shafayat Nazam Rasul

Sun, Jul 1 2018

Climate finance is at the heart of development discourse

Trump vs Russia and China

Trump vs Russia and China

Selina Mohsin

Fri, Apr 13 2018

The international order of nations is changing

Punish the banks, not the people

Punish the banks, not the people

Editorial

Thu, Mar 29 2018

Banks, especially state-owned ones, have continuously flouted the rules and disbursed loans which have...

A new beginning

A new beginning

Mostafiz Uddin

Thu, Mar 8 2018

Where is our apparel industry going?

EU leaders prepare for battle over post-Brexit...

EU leaders prepare for battle over post-Brexit...

Europe

Sat, Feb 24 2018

The Netherlands, Austria, Denmark and Sweden are most adamant in rejecting any increase in

Police need to get their priorities...

Police need to get their priorities...

Opinion

Mon, Feb 19 2018

Yes, there are problems with our financial sector, but Bitcoin is not the reason

How rich are the rich?  If only you...

How rich are the rich? If only you...

Gil B Manzon Jr

Mon, Feb 12 2018

Inequality of wealth exists in every society

Don’t shoot the messenger

Don’t shoot the messenger

Editorial

Wed, Jan 17 2018

It is all well and good that the economy is growing, but a stable banking sector is imperative to ensure...

Taking stock of IPOs

Taking stock of IPOs

Opinion

Wed, Dec 27 2017

A thriving IPO market usually indicates robust economic activity, but this year, the Dhaka Stock Exchange...