• Friday, Sep 21, 2018
  • Last Update : 12:19 am
A critical mass

A critical mass

Shafayat Nazam Rasul

Sun, Jul 1 2018

Climate finance is at the heart of development discourse

Trump vs Russia and China

Trump vs Russia and China

Selina Mohsin

Fri, Apr 13 2018

The international order of nations is changing

Punish the banks, not the people

Punish the banks, not the people

Editorial

Thu, Mar 29 2018

Banks, especially state-owned ones, have continuously flouted the rules and disbursed loans which have...

A new beginning

A new beginning

Mostafiz Uddin

Thu, Mar 8 2018

Where is our apparel industry going?

EU leaders prepare for battle over post-Brexit...

EU leaders prepare for battle over post-Brexit...

Europe

Sat, Feb 24 2018

The Netherlands, Austria, Denmark and Sweden are most adamant in rejecting any increase in

Police need to get their priorities...

Police need to get their priorities...

Opinion

Mon, Feb 19 2018

Yes, there are problems with our financial sector, but Bitcoin is not the reason

How rich are the rich?  If only you...

How rich are the rich? If only you...

Gil B Manzon Jr

Mon, Feb 12 2018

Inequality of wealth exists in every society

Don’t shoot the messenger

Don’t shoot the messenger

Editorial

Wed, Jan 17 2018

It is all well and good that the economy is growing, but a stable banking sector is imperative to ensure...

Taking stock of IPOs

Taking stock of IPOs

Opinion

Wed, Dec 27 2017

A thriving IPO market usually indicates robust economic activity, but this year, the Dhaka Stock Exchange...

Flouting the rules

Flouting the rules

Opinion

Fri, Dec 22 2017

At the rate these cooperatives have been expanding, it seems that their reach is extending beyond Bangladesh...

Tax reform is  the only way

Tax reform is the only way

Editorial

Sun, Dec 17 2017

With Bangladesh moving towards bigger and better things in the future, it is crucial that taxation is...

Time to upgrade our banking sector

Time to upgrade our banking sector

Opinion

Sun, Nov 26 2017

The takeaways from Annual Banking Conference 2017

An unwise cap on mobile wallets

An unwise cap on mobile wallets

Editorial

Fri, Nov 10 2017

Regulation and oversight are indeed necessary, but there are better ways to do that -- criminals and...

Money in your mobile

Money in your mobile

Editorial

Fri, Jul 28 2017

This is indeed the path to financial inclusion

Repaving the ancient road

Repaving the ancient road

Mamun Rashid , Mamun Rashid

Tue, Jul 18 2017

What does Bangladesh stand to gain from OBOR and BCIM?

Fix up our financial system

Fix up our financial system

Muhammad Zamir

Sat, Jun 10 2017

Illicit financial flows in and out of Bangladesh have been on the rise

FBCCI urges to withdraw all excise duty...

FBCCI urges to withdraw all excise duty...

Economy

Sat, Jun 3 2017

The apex trade body also urged the government to withdraw VAT on English medium school tuition fees,...

Money makes the world go round

Money makes the world go round

SM Musa

Fri, Jun 2 2017

Cryptocurrency could topple the financial world

No free lunch

No free lunch

M Shamsul Haque

Wed, May 3 2017

Bangladesh is not alone in practicing deficit financing

Special economic zones can help us meet...

Special economic zones can help us meet...

Editorial

Fri, Apr 21 2017

Hitting all of our economic targets is a tall order, but it can be done -- the answer lies in the setting...

A peek into the first national conference...

A peek into the first national conference...

Climate Change

Fri, Dec 23 2016

But even more important than the technical mainstreaming into planning is the need to be much better...