• Friday, Aug 23, 2019
  • Last Update : 08:09 pm
A more fragmented EU

A more fragmented EU

Muhammad Zamir

Sun, Jul 14 2019

Europe’s voters are clearly looking elsewhere for answers

Winning hearts and minds

Winning hearts and minds

Ekram Kabir

Fri, May 31 2019

We would like to see leaders who truly care about us

Hindutva’s heyday

Hindutva’s heyday

Partha S Ghosh

Tue, May 28 2019

Narendra Modi in his ‘divide, distract, and rule’ avatar

An acrimonious election

An acrimonious election

Sarwar Jahan Chowdhury

Wed, May 15 2019

The real issues have largely been obscured by the Indian media

How democratic is India really?

How democratic is India really?

Mithun Dey

Mon, May 6 2019

The Lok Sabha elections need to be free and fair

The election that is predictably...

The election that is predictably...

Partha S Ghosh

Thu, May 2 2019

Will Modi return to his throne?

More than 270 died from overwork-related...

More than 270 died from overwork-related...

South Asia

Sun, Apr 28 2019

Voting was largely peaceful and was estimated to have drawn 80% of the total 193 million voters

All eyes on the Indian elections

All eyes on the Indian elections

Zahid Newaz Khan

Fri, Apr 26 2019

Why Bangladesh should be paying attention to the Indian elections

The cost to democracy

The cost to democracy

Mahmudur Rahman

Thu, Apr 18 2019

There needs to be more transparency in elections

India cancels poll in southern area...

India cancels poll in southern area...

South Asia

Wed, Apr 17 2019

It is the first time a ballot has been cancelled in a national election over attempted vote-buying

Why is the BJP so jittery?

Why is the BJP so jittery?

Rohan Venkataramakrishnan

Thu, Apr 11 2019

Modi’s party is trying too hard to control the narrative 

Facebook to block foreign ads for Australia...

Facebook to block foreign ads for Australia...

Oceania

Fri, Apr 5 2019

The restrictions will come into force when the government announces the election date in the coming...

Nine arrested in Thailand for posting...

Nine arrested in Thailand for posting...

South Asia

Thu, Mar 28 2019

Junta-ruled Thailand held its first vote since a 2014 coup on Sunday, with a military-backed party and...

A gross lack of transparency?

A gross lack of transparency?

The DUCSU elections have brought more gloom than hope to students of Dhaka University

How can local government elections be...

How can local government elections be...

Right now, local elections are problematic, to say the least

Dhaka University deserves better

Dhaka University deserves better

Editorial

Tue, Mar 12 2019

If there is one institution in the country that we would like to see flourish as a centre of excellence...

The test of democracy

The test of democracy

Mahmudur Rahman

Thu, Mar 7 2019

The people speak, but are they heard?

Facebook tightens paid ads rules ahead...

Facebook tightens paid ads rules ahead...

Europe

Mon, Jan 28 2019

Facebook said that the transparency tools for electoral ads would be expanded globally before the end...

Why AL won

Why AL won

Sajeeb Wazed

Sat, Jan 12 2019

Ordinary citizens want a government that will improve their lives

Welcoming the new cabinet

Welcoming the new cabinet

Opinion

Mon, Jan 7 2019

Cooperation will remain key in the future, as Bangladesh has tough and diverse and difficult challenges...

Crossing the border of time

Crossing the border of time

Tasneem Kibria Orpa

Mon, Jan 7 2019

2018 was a challenging year for Bangladesh