• Tuesday, Apr 20, 2021
  • Last Update : 05:17 pm
OP-ED: Bengali democracy, alive and...

OP-ED: Bengali democracy, alive and...

Esam Sohail

Fri, Apr 9 2021

How to hold pluralist, participatory, and democratic elections

Greene a 'cancer' on Republicans, McConnell...

McConnell: Greene a 'cancer' on...

North America

Tue, Feb 2 2021

Greene struck back on Twitter, saying: “The real cancer for the Republican Party is weak Republicans...

Voting in third phase municipality elections...

3dr phase municipality polls end amid...

Election

Sat, Jan 30 2021

Voter turnout, in most parts, was satisfactory, but, there have been reports of vote-rigging, polling...

OP-ED: The implications of the American...

OP-ED: The implications of the American...

Vivek Menezes

Fri, Jan 15 2021

It can be a slippery slope into rage, violence, and the destruction of democracy

Ban imposed on plying of truck, pickups...

Savar municipal polls: Ban imposed on...

Election

Tue, Jan 12 2021

The second phase of the Savar municipality election will be held on January 16

Voting in Chittagong city polls rescheduled...

Voting in Chittagong city polls on Jan...

Nation

Mon, Dec 14 2020

EC resets balloting after a delay of over eight months due to the pandemic

Elections to nearly 100 local bodies...

Elections to nearly 100 local bodies...

Election

Wed, Dec 9 2020

Only five municipalities and three union parishads will go to regular election, while the rest will go...

OP-ED: A future rife with...

OP-ED: A future rife with...

Sarwar Jahan Chowdhury

Tue, Nov 17 2020

What do BJP wins in Bihar and MP mean for Indian politics?

UN: Libyans agree preliminary plan for...

UN: Libyans agree preliminary plan for...

Africa

Thu, Nov 12 2020

The Tunisia dialogue comes alongside military negotiations inside Libya to fill in the details of a landmark...

US Election: Poll closing, counting...

US Election: Poll closing, counting...

World

Tue, Nov 3 2020

Arizona, Florida, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin are likely to determine the US...

CEC: Municipality polls to be held in...

CEC: Municipality polls to be held in...

Bangladesh

Mon, Nov 2 2020

The announcement was made by the commission chief on Monday

OP-ED: Democracy without rights

OP-ED: Democracy without rights

Md Jahid Hashan

Mon, Oct 26 2020

The 2020 Myanmar general election is already shaping up to be fundamentally flawed

Polls in over 200 local bodies...

Polls in over 200 local bodies...

Nation

Mon, Oct 19 2020

The balloting will take place 9am to 5pm, without any break

OP-ED: Does Trump’s Covid-19 affect...

OP-ED: Does Trump’s Covid-19 affect...

The Conversation

Fri, Oct 2 2020

The diagnosis could both hurt and help his chances

OP-ED: What does the prophecy say about...

OP-ED: What does the prophecy say about...

Fazlul Halim Rana

Thu, Aug 27 2020

Why Trump might emerge victorious once more

Do you need a communications...

Do you need a communications...

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Feb 7 2020

What you say -- and the way you say it -- is everything

Restoring the faith

Restoring the faith

Editorial

Sun, Feb 2 2020

It is up to the government and the new mayors of Dhaka to earn back the people’s trust

No small task

No small task

Editorial

Fri, Jan 31 2020

Any mayor who can rise to the challenge of improving the quality of life here is a mayor we can rally...

Time to vote

Time to vote

Editorial

Fri, Jan 31 2020

The outcome of the elections today will determine the future of the city

Citizens deserve better

Citizens deserve better

Editorial

Sun, Jan 26 2020

In the march towards progress, it seems that we have forgotten the value of liveability

From Russia, no love

From Russia, no love

Anik Kabir

Sat, Jan 18 2020

Russia’s cabinet has resigned, and it’s all part of Putin’s plan