• Thursday, Oct 01, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:57 am
Death of Egypt's Nasser, 50 years...

Death of Egypt's Nasser, 50 years...

Middle East

Mon, Sep 28 2020

'The United Arab Republic, the Arab nation and humanity at large have lost one of the most valued...

Egypt discovers 27 sarcophagi more than...

Egypt discovers 27 sarcophagi more than...

Middle East

Mon, Sep 21 2020

The wooden sarcophagi are ornately painted and covered in hieroglyphs

13 mysterious mummies discovered in...

13 mysterious mummies discovered in...

Africa

Tue, Sep 15 2020

The discovery comes just a week after the country reopened its archaeological sites and museums to visitors...

Spurned by allies, Saudi rethinks chequebook...

Spurned by allies, Saudi rethinks chequebook...

Middle East

Wed, Sep 2 2020

The country is already seeking to end the perception of being 'an ATM'

Israel keeps up Gaza strikes in response...

Israel keeps up Gaza strikes in response...

Middle East

Tue, Aug 25 2020

The fire balloons have sparked multiple blazes on farmland in southern Israel, causing significant damage...

X-rays shed light on animal mummies'...

X-rays shed light on animal mummies'...

Europe

Fri, Aug 21 2020

The team said they hoped their technique could be used to get ancient artefacts to disclose their...

Cairo's Tahrir Square gets a contested...

Cairo's Tahrir Square gets a contested...

Africa

Tue, Aug 11 2020

Critics have said the project appears designed to tighten control of a symbolic public space and prevent...

Egypt grapples with women's freedoms...

Egypt grapples with women's freedoms...

World

Sun, Aug 2 2020

Many in the deeply conservative country have cheered on the arrests, as traditional social values clash...

American woman of Bangladesh origin...

American woman of Bangladesh origin...

Africa

Thu, Jul 23 2020

Cairo police suspects she was murdered

Mufti of Egypt says Turkey's Hagia Sophia...

Mufti of Egypt says Turkey's Hagia Sophia...

Middle East

Tue, Jul 21 2020

The Turkish leader has rejected worldwide condemnation over Turkey's decision to convert the Byzantine-era...

Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia deadlocked on...

Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia deadlocked on...

Africa

Wed, Jul 15 2020

The Egyptian irrigation ministry said on Monday that all three countries would submit a report on the...

#MeToo wave hits Egypt

#MeToo wave hits Egypt

World

Mon, Jul 13 2020

The suspect, accused by more than 100 girls and women, was arrested last week from his home in a gated...

Egypt, France, Germany, Jordan warn...

Egypt, France, Germany, Jordan warn...

Middle East

Tue, Jul 7 2020

The Palestinian Authority, which wants the West Bank for a future Palestinian state, opposes the...

Egypt, Ethiopia and Sudan to agree Nile...

Egypt, Ethiopia and Sudan to agree Nile...

Africa

Sat, Jun 27 2020

The Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD) is being built about 15 km (nine miles) from the border with...

Egypt shuts mosques, churches over coronavirus...

Egypt shuts mosques, churches over coronavirus...

Middle East

Sat, Mar 21 2020

Egypt has more than 100,000 mosques

A date with Tutankhamun

A date with Tutankhamun

Nadia Kabir Barb

Fri, Feb 14 2020

Did the great leader fulfil his potential? 

Egyptian priest speaks after 3,000...

Egyptian priest speaks after 3,000...

World

Fri, Jan 24 2020

The priest lived between 1099 and 1069BC, during the politically volatile reign of Ramses XI

Holder Salah among 30 nominees for top...

Holder Salah among 30 nominees for top...

Sports

Mon, Nov 25 2019

He is one of 10 English Premier League stars to make the list, which includes his Liverpool teammates...

UN experts call Morsi's death in Egypt...

UN experts call Morsi's death in Egypt...

Middle East

Mon, Nov 11 2019

Egypt's first democratically elected civilian president Morsi died in June after collapsing in a...

Egypt votes for Salah as world best...

Egypt votes for Salah as world best...

Football

Fri, Sep 27 2019

According to Fifa the "signatures on the voting forms were in capital letters and thus seemed not...

Egyptian authorities round up hundreds...

Egyptian authorities round up hundreds...

World

Mon, Sep 23 2019

The protests continued on Saturday evening in the Red Sea city of Suez