• Thursday, Dec 09, 2021
  • Last Update : 06:21 pm
Court issues arrest warrant against...

Court issues arrest warrant against...

Bangladesh

Wed, Oct 27 2021

Wife of the sergeant Dr Sonia Samad has filed the case against him  

Report: 274 women, children tortured...

Report: 274 women, children tortured...

Bangladesh

Wed, Sep 1 2021

34 females including 12 girls have died mysteriously

Man beats eight-month pregnant wife...

Man arrested for beating pregnant wife...

Bangladesh

Sun, Jul 25 2021

Locals detain him from his home and turn him over to the police

45 children raped in May

45 children raped in May

Bangladesh

Wed, Jun 2 2021

At least 240 women and girls were tortured during the month

Bangladesh woman set afire over dowry...

Dowry kills another woman in...

Nation

Thu, Feb 18 2021

At least 89 women were tortured to death over dowry across the country in 2020

Chittagong woman latest victim of dowry...

Chittagong woman set on fire over...

Nation

Sat, Nov 21 2020

On Thursday, the couple, blessed with a five-year-old boy, had a fight over dowry and on Friday Salimullah...

Pakistan officially bans dowry

Pakistan officially bans dowry

South Asia

Sun, Oct 11 2020

In the latest development by the Minister of Religious Affairs of Pakistan has decided to ban the tradition...

In-laws beat up woman, cut her hair...

In-laws cut woman's hair short for...

Nation

Tue, Sep 15 2020

Police took the woman's father-in-law Habibur Rahman in custody and a case is yet to be filed in...

Woman killed for dowry in Meherpur

Woman killed for dowry in Meherpur

Nation

Mon, Sep 7 2020

Recently a local arbitration fined the woman’s husband Tk30,000 for an extra-marital affair

Father abducts, kills child for...

Father abducts, kills child for...

Crime

Wed, Jul 1 2020

RAB also recovered the body of the three-and-a-half year-old Mahim on Tuesday

Man sells child, tortures wife for...

Man sells child, tortures wife for...

Nation

Mon, Jun 15 2020

'When I denied providing the dowry, he along with seven members of his family tied me to a pole and...

Woman killed over dowry in Feni

Woman killed over dowry in Feni

Nation

Sat, Jun 6 2020

Her family paid Tk1 lakh against a demand of Tk2 lakh by her in-laws, according to the case filed

Yes, we can

Yes, we can

Avenue T

Mon, Mar 9 2020

Dowry, rape, trafficking, child marriage, physical torture, abduction -- what do we think of when we...

Executive magistrate sued for demanding...

Executive magistrate sued for demanding...

Court

Mon, Dec 2 2019

The case was filed out of vengeance as they got divorced on November 17, the magistrate says

Housewife killed for dowry in...

Housewife killed for dowry in...

Nation

Tue, Aug 13 2019

Deceased found hanging from ceiling

2 sentenced to death for killing woman...

2 sentenced to death for killing woman...

Court

Mon, Aug 5 2019

Abdul Alim killed his wife with the help of a friend

When a false accusation is made

When a false accusation is made

Tasmiah Nuhiya Ahmed

Sun, Jul 28 2019

The law should never be misused

Woman killed for dowry

Woman killed for dowry

Nation

Mon, Jun 3 2019

The deceased was identified as Arifa Akhter, 20, daughter of Alam Mia

Do you dare to be a woman?

Do you dare to be a woman?

Proma Gulshan

Sat, Apr 27 2019

Even the most open-minded families are not fully free from misogyny and sexism

A step backwards

A step backwards

Nafiz Ahmed

Tue, Apr 16 2019

Existing laws against dowry are entirely unhelpful

Hero Alom lands in jail in domestic...

Hero Alom lands in jail in domestic...

Court

Thu, Mar 7 2019

His wife was hospitalized after the incident at the Bogra home on Tuesday night