• Tuesday, Sep 25, 2018
  • Last Update : 08:39 am
On the precipice of death

On the precipice of death

Editorial

Wed, May 23 2018

Why is more not being done to protect residents in these places?

World Turtle Day: Conserving the Asian...

World Turtle Day: Conserving the Asian...

Bangladesh

Wed, May 23 2018

To help conserve the Asian giant tortoise, CCA set up a captive breeding centre at Bhawal National Park...

No end in sight for violent factional...

No end in sight for violent factional...

Special

Fri, May 18 2018

Violence is growing in the three hill districts of Bangladesh. In the recent years, there

Fear and anxiety in the CHT

Fear and anxiety in the CHT

John Tripura

Thu, May 10 2018

Violence rages on in the CHT while implementation of the peace accord remains a far cry

Chakma women’s leader names...

Chakma women’s leader names...

Nation

Mon, Apr 30 2018

Monti Chakma and Doyasona Chakma, leaders of Hill Women’s Federation, were abducted on March 18 by a...

A day of many colours

A day of many colours

Opinion

Fri, Apr 13 2018

Pohela Boishakh unites Bangladesh like no other festival

The deep irony

The deep irony

Opinion

Tue, Mar 13 2018

The language we once shed blood over is being used to silence minorities

Mithun Chakma murder: Daylong road blockade...

Mithun Chakma murder: Daylong road blockade...

Nation

Fri, Jan 5 2018

A case in this connection has yet to be filed even after three days

UPDF leader Mithun Chakma shot

UPDF leader Mithun Chakma shot

Nation

Wed, Jan 3 2018

Unknown assailants abducted and killed UPDF central leader Mithun Chakma in Khagrachhari on Wednesday...

HC for probe into Langadu violence

HC for probe into Langadu violence

Court

Mon, Aug 21 2017

Over 300 homes of indigenous people in Langadu were torched by Bangali settlers in June

Is pre-primary education in indigenous...

Is pre-primary education in indigenous...

Education

Wed, Aug 9 2017

Most indigenous teachers in Rangamati and Khagrachhari districts said they did not receive any training...

UN allocates $1m for recent landslide...

UN allocates $1m for recent landslide...

Nation

Fri, Jul 14 2017

The CERF allocation will be used to provide 1,500 temporary shelters and repair 1,500 homes damaged in...

The development paradox in the CHT

The development paradox in the CHT

John Tripura

Thu, Jul 13 2017

Is land in the CHT being grabbed in the name of development?

Lawmaker: Perpetrators of Langadu attack...

Lawmaker: Perpetrators of Langadu attack...

Nation

Sun, Jul 9 2017

The lawmaker said development in the CHT area would not be sustainable if the political tension is not...

A prayer for Eid

A prayer for Eid

Editorial

Sat, Jun 24 2017

A heartfelt Eid Mubarak to all our readers

For peace in the CHT

For peace in the CHT

Fardin Hasin

Tue, Jun 20 2017

The conflict in the CHT is more complicated than it seems

Can’t you hear their cries?

Can’t you hear their cries?

John Tripura

Mon, Jun 19 2017

The death toll in the Hill Tracts keeps rising

We need all hands on deck

We need all hands on deck

Editorial

Fri, Jun 16 2017

We cannot have more dead bodies on our conscience -- the time for action is now

History repeats itself

History repeats itself

John Tripura

Tue, Jun 13 2017

The violence must stop

How deforestation damaged water sources...

How deforestation damaged water sources...

Tribune Climate

Thu, Jun 8 2017

Siam Nem Bom, a 56-year-old woman who moved with her husband and three daughters, now have to go out...

A great shame

A great shame

Nur E Emroz Alam Tonoy

Sat, Jun 3 2017

Peace is still a far cry in the hill tracts