• Sunday, Sep 15, 2019
  • Last Update : 05:39 pm
Protect the people, not just...

Protect the people, not just...

Nur E Emroz Alam Tonoy

Tue, Aug 20 2019

Have rubber plantations become the new agents of land dispossession in the CHT?

Violence escalates in CHT following...

Violence escalates in CHT following...

Politics

Mon, Apr 1 2019

Regional political parties fear Awami League's increasing influence will diminish their long-standing...

Survival or Justice?

Survival or Justice?

Nation

Mon, Mar 25 2019

Kamrul Hasan and Nuruschafa Manik, from Khagrachhari

Compensation for CHT land acquisition...

Compensation for CHT land acquisition...

Nation

Mon, Feb 18 2019

The land minister has placed the Chittagong Hill Tracts (Land Acquisition) Regulation (Amendment) Bill...

CEC: EC Mahbub’s statement untrue

CEC: EC Mahbub’s statement untrue

Election

Tue, Dec 18 2018

He also said the administration is alert against any sort of manipulation, adding that helicopters will...

Govt orders surveillance in hill tract...

Govt orders surveillance in hill tract...

Education

Thu, Nov 22 2018

Student participation in UPDF-related programs will be considered a punishable offence

PM: No more conflict in CHT

PM: No more conflict in CHT

Nation

Mon, Oct 29 2018

Sheikh Hasina said the country including the CHT region will achieve prosperity through peace, while...

On the precipice of death

On the precipice of death

Editorial

Wed, May 23 2018

Why is more not being done to protect residents in these places?

World Turtle Day: Conserving the Asian...

World Turtle Day: Conserving the Asian...

Bangladesh

Wed, May 23 2018

To help conserve the Asian giant tortoise, CCA set up a captive breeding centre at Bhawal National Park...

No end in sight for violent factional...

No end in sight for violent factional...

Special

Fri, May 18 2018

Violence is growing in the three hill districts of Bangladesh. In the recent years, there

Fear and anxiety in the CHT

Fear and anxiety in the CHT

John Tripura

Thu, May 10 2018

Violence rages on in the CHT while implementation of the peace accord remains a far cry

Chakma women’s leader names...

Chakma women’s leader names...

Nation

Mon, Apr 30 2018

Monti Chakma and Doyasona Chakma, leaders of Hill Women’s Federation, were abducted on March 18 by a...

A day of many colours

A day of many colours

Opinion

Fri, Apr 13 2018

Pohela Boishakh unites Bangladesh like no other festival

The deep irony

The deep irony

Opinion

Tue, Mar 13 2018

The language we once shed blood over is being used to silence minorities

Mithun Chakma murder: Daylong road blockade...

Mithun Chakma murder: Daylong road blockade...

Nation

Fri, Jan 5 2018

A case in this connection has yet to be filed even after three days

UPDF leader Mithun Chakma shot

UPDF leader Mithun Chakma shot

Nation

Wed, Jan 3 2018

Unknown assailants abducted and killed UPDF central leader Mithun Chakma in Khagrachhari on Wednesday...

HC for probe into Langadu violence

HC for probe into Langadu violence

Court

Mon, Aug 21 2017

Over 300 homes of indigenous people in Langadu were torched by Bangali settlers in June

Is pre-primary education in indigenous...

Is pre-primary education in indigenous...

Education

Wed, Aug 9 2017

Most indigenous teachers in Rangamati and Khagrachhari districts said they did not receive any training...

UN allocates $1m for recent landslide...

UN allocates $1m for recent landslide...

Nation

Fri, Jul 14 2017

The CERF allocation will be used to provide 1,500 temporary shelters and repair 1,500 homes damaged in...

The development paradox in the CHT

The development paradox in the CHT

John Tripura

Thu, Jul 13 2017

Is land in the CHT being grabbed in the name of development?

Lawmaker: Perpetrators of Langadu attack...

Lawmaker: Perpetrators of Langadu attack...

Nation

Sun, Jul 9 2017

The lawmaker said development in the CHT area would not be sustainable if the political tension is not...