• Saturday, Jul 11, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:19 pm
ED: Don’t let Covid-19 stand in the...

ED: Don’t let Covid-19 stand in the...

Editorial

Thu, Jul 9 2020

Abusing a child is amongst the most heinous actions any person could commit

Is Covid-19 pandemic leading to a rise...

Is Covid-19 pandemic leading to a rise...

Bangladesh

Thu, Jul 9 2020

Parents are using the pandemic as an opportunity to marry off their underage daughters

UN: Covid-19 puts millions more at risk...

UN: Covid-19 puts millions more at risk...

Coronavirus

Tue, Jun 30 2020

Some 33,000 girls are forced into early marriage every day usually to much older men, the report added,...

National budget allocation for women...

National budget allocation for women...

D2

Mon, Jun 29 2020

Request for specific allocation in the 2020-21 national budget to eliminate child marriage and increase...

Coronavirus puts 4m girls at risk of...

Coronavirus puts 4m girls at risk of...

World

Fri, May 15 2020

A UN report last month predicted the pandemic could lead to an extra 13 million child marriages over...

6 schoolgirls saved from child marriage...

6 schoolgirls saved from child marriage...

Nation

Sat, Mar 14 2020

The mobile court fined the guardians with Tk20,000, while a kazi (marriage officiant) was fined...

Child 'love marriages' in Nepal blight...

Child 'love marriages' in Nepal blight...

South Asia

Thu, Jan 16 2020

Some 50% of Nepali women aged between 25 to 49 were married by their 18th birthday

National dialogue on child marriage...

National dialogue on child marriage...

Dhaka

Tue, Dec 24 2019

Let us all sit together and create a master plan to have zero child marriages by the year 2030

How did Kurigram declare itself child...

How did Kurigram declare itself child...

Nation

Tue, Dec 3 2019

Experts say at least 50% of girls in ward no 8 are victim to the practice

A glaring threat against children

A glaring threat against children

Luba Khalili , Marzina Khatun

Wed, Nov 20 2019

How to combat the evils of child sexual abuse

Empowering girls should be a...

Empowering girls should be a...

Editorial

Sun, Oct 13 2019

Child marriage is one the most glaring issues that girls in our country face

Nationwide campaign to end child marriage...

Nationwide campaign to end child marriage...

Bangladesh

Sun, Sep 29 2019

The campaign will start from October 4, 2019 and will continue till November 4, 2019

Putting an end to child marriage

Putting an end to child marriage

Editorial

Sun, Sep 15 2019

Child marriage must be fought holistically

2 jailed for child marriage in...

2 jailed for child marriage in...

Nation

Mon, Aug 19 2019

The groom abducted the minor and married her forcefully

Forced to grow up

Forced to grow up

Editorial

Thu, May 30 2019

A proper childhood should be a human right

Do you dare to be a woman?

Do you dare to be a woman?

Proma Gulshan

Sat, Apr 27 2019

Even the most open-minded families are not fully free from misogyny and sexism

Child marriage is a blight on...

Child marriage is a blight on...

Editorial

Sun, Apr 21 2019

The reasons behind the persistence of child marriage are complex, but we ignore them at our own...

UNO rescues girl from child marriage,...

UNO rescues girl from child marriage,...

Nation

Sat, Apr 20 2019

According to the UNO office, a ninth-grader student was set to be married off to an older man on Friday...

Was child marriage used to cover up...

Was child marriage used to cover up...

Nation

Tue, Apr 9 2019

Police have arrested seven suspects in connection with the incident

Climate change and socio-economic insecurity...

Climate change and socio-economic insecurity...

Dhaka

Mon, Mar 25 2019

These observations came up at an experience sharing meeting on Monday, organized at the Brac Centre auditorium...

Forced by climate change

Forced by climate change

Anik Kabir

Wed, Mar 6 2019

How climate change is driving child labour and child marriage in Bangladesh