• Saturday, Apr 04, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:17 pm
Brick kilns exhaust farmlands of topsoil...

Brick kilns exhaust farmlands of topsoil...

Nation

Wed, Mar 18 2020

Near about 500,000 to 1,000,000cft (Cubic Feet) topsoils are being used to make 3 to 4 million bricks...

Brick Kilns operating without...

Brick Kilns operating without...

Nation

Sun, Mar 8 2020

Of the 58 brick kilns in the district 12 had not renewed their license and 11 others are producing  bricks...

Govt to shut down illegal brick...

Govt to shut down illegal brick...

Parliament

Sun, Feb 16 2020

There are more than 6000 brick kilns which cater for 99% of the 17 billion pieces of the country’s...

Will Dhaka ever get clean air?

Will Dhaka ever get clean air?

Dhaka

Sat, Feb 8 2020

58% of the particulate pollutants come from brick kilns around and inside Dhaka, 18% from road dust and...

Time to clean our air

Time to clean our air

Editorial

Mon, Feb 3 2020

It is about time that concrete action was taken

Man chained for 49 days because of...

Man chained for 49 days because of...

Nation

Mon, Jan 20 2020

According to the case details, Salauddin had not been fed properly or had any chance of bathing

47 illegal brick kilns operates on the...

47 illegal brick kilns operates on the...

Nation

Thu, Dec 19 2019

The bricks are being burned in wood burners which is destroying the local cropfields and polluting the...

Shutting down the polluters

Shutting down the polluters

Editorial

Thu, Nov 28 2019

The long-term solution is to phase out the use of traditional bricks

‘Govt to introduce non-fire technology...

‘Govt to introduce non-fire technology...

Event

Fri, Jul 26 2019

Brick kilns using fire are considered to be one of the major sources of air pollution in the

HC orders disposal of application seeking...

HC orders disposal of application seeking...

Court

Tue, May 14 2019

The order was passed after the hearing of a writ petition filed in this regard

Toxic smog from Panchagarh brick kilns...

Toxic smog from Panchagarh brick kilns...

Nation

Wed, Apr 24 2019

Chemical radiation continues to affect new crops  despite emissions having ceased

Brick kilns devouring arable lands

Brick kilns devouring arable lands

Nation

Mon, Apr 8 2019

Owners are supposed to use half portions of soil and sand to create a layer protecting the topsoil, but...

Destroying Nature

Destroying Nature

Environment

Sat, Mar 23 2019

Illegal practices by brick kilns in Bandarban are threatening the region's environment and forests...

Brick kilns devouring arable lands

Brick kilns devouring arable lands

Special

Thu, Mar 7 2019

Owners are supposed to use half portions of soil and sand to create a layer protecting the topsoil, but...

DoE fines 33 brick kilns in

DoE fines 33 brick kilns in

Nation

Tue, Mar 5 2019

The DoE fined them a total of Tk 15.55 lakh, filed 31 cases, and jailed two people for violating environmental...

42 businesses fined Tk24.80 lakh for...

42 businesses fined Tk24.80 lakh for...

Business

Wed, Feb 20 2019

A total of 38 brick kilns of the district’s Fatikchhari upazila were fined Tk20.10 lakh

Environment minister: Brick kilns responsible...

Environment minister: Brick kilns responsible...

Environment

Thu, Feb 14 2019

Noting that various diseases, including cancer, are on the rise in the country, he said the government...

Narail authority mum as brick-kiln owners...

Narail authority mum as brick-kiln owners...

Nation

Sun, Jan 27 2019

Molla Bricks is one of these brick-kilns set up on the Madhumati river bank in Ramkantapur village

Brick kilns in Narsingdi threaten...

Brick kilns in Narsingdi threaten...

Nation

Thu, Jan 17 2019

Soil excavation of the fertile soil on the surface of the farmlands, for usage in the kilns, have reduced...

Gopalganj environment threatened by...

Gopalganj environment threatened by...

Environment

Thu, Jan 3 2019

Despite the government’s steps to shut kilns down, influential kiln owners have kept them...

When the air kills

When the air kills

Editorial

Thu, Apr 19 2018

Make no mistake: Air pollution is a public health hazard