• Sunday, Sep 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:45 am
Hacking alert: Banks in Bangladesh limit...

Hacking alert: Banks limit...

Banks

Mon, Sep 7 2020

Some banks have suspended ATM transactions at night

Experts: Banks should change operation...

Experts: Banks should change operation...

Banks

Sun, Jul 26 2020

Country’s banking system faces unprecedented challenges as the ongoing pandemic has wreaked havoc...

Banks to remain open on Saturday ahead...

Banks to remain open on Saturday ahead...

Banks

Wed, Jul 22 2020

The clearing system of Bangladesh Bank will also remain open on Saturday

Banks slow in lending from stimulus...

Banks slow in lending from stimulus...

Banks

Sat, Jul 4 2020

Banks have been receiving a huge number of applications from pandemic-hit industries and businesses seeking...

OP-ED: Should foreign exchange be...

OP-ED: Should foreign exchange be...

Tim Worstall

Sun, Jun 21 2020

With the world running on floating exchange rates, exchange control just imposes additional costs

Banks asked to take immediate measures...

Banks asked to take immediate measures...

Business

Fri, Jun 19 2020

Banks have been asked to set up separate help desks at every branch to assist applicants seeking stimulus...

OP-ED: A game-changer for growth

OP-ED: A game-changer for growth

Shafayat Nazam Rasul

Sun, Jun 14 2020

Fintech is emerging as a driver of innovative financial solutions during Covid-19

When Banks denied Pele

When Banks denied Pele

Sports

Sun, Jun 7 2020

Banks was there to deny Pele with a mesmerizing save at the last moment, sprinting towards the line and...

Blood banks drying up

Blood banks drying up

Dhaka

Mon, May 18 2020

Shutdown leading to failure in organizing donation camps, voluntary donors unable to donate because of...

What are banks doing now?

What are banks doing now?

Forrest Cookson

Fri, May 15 2020

The fall in earnings has meant necessary changes

A time to give back

A time to give back

Ekram Kabir

Fri, Apr 17 2020

This crisis has made us more charitable, more giving

News Analysis: The problem with banking...

News Analysis: The problem with banking...

Coronavirus

Fri, Apr 17 2020

Not only will those most in need not benefit from the stimulus package, but those far less deserving...

Mad rush at banks to withdraw cash

Mad rush at banks to withdraw cash

Business

Wed, Mar 25 2020

Banks are seen packed with clients withdrawing money  ahead of the 10-day holidays to prevent corona...

Banks, DSE urge clients to avoid branches,...

Banks, DSE urge clients to avoid branches,...

Business

Sun, Mar 22 2020

The authorities encourage clients for digital transaction

The need for a systemic change

The need for a systemic change

Editorial

Wed, Mar 4 2020

Loan defaulters in our country enjoy a staggering level of impunity

An institutional failure

An institutional failure

Editorial

Sat, Feb 29 2020

We simply cannot afford to let non-performing loans continue to derail our progress

12 banks face Tk10,797cr provision...

12 banks face Tk10,797cr provision...

Banks

Wed, Feb 19 2020

Experts said that some of the banks faced provision shortfall because they lent beyond limits set in...

Four state-owned banks to go

Four state-owned banks to go

Banks

Sun, Feb 9 2020

Experts raise eyebrows, raising question about bringing in ailing entities 

Bringing discipline to the banking...

Bringing discipline to the banking...

Editorial

Wed, Jan 29 2020

Banks must be held accountable

Stop defending loan defaulters

Stop defending loan defaulters

Editorial

Sun, Jan 19 2020

A robust banking sector is the bedrock of any efficient and functional economy

Lower interest rates are good for...

Lower interest rates are good for...

Editorial

Wed, Jan 8 2020

Bringing down the interest rate to single digits should encourage more entrepreneurs, both local and...