• Sunday, Sep 23, 2018
  • Last Update : 10:29 am
In uncharted waters

In uncharted waters

Sarwar Jahan Chowdhury

Thu, Jul 12 2018

Is West Bengal about to see more social unrest?

What does it mean to be Bangali in...

What does it mean to be Bangali in...

Magazine

Fri, Apr 13 2018

We come in all sorts and colours

‘You were a Bangali, and nothing but...

‘You were a Bangali, and nothing but...

Special

Wed, Mar 7 2018

Dr Anisuzzaman, professor emeritus at Dhaka University, said after the speech, Bangabandhu’s word became...

Can a Bangali play a Chakma girl?

Can a Bangali play a Chakma girl?

Showtime

Wed, Feb 21 2018

The effort to make her resemble indigenous groups with eye makeup and giving her bangs is stereotype...

Meet the Bangalis who introduced curry...

Meet the Bangalis who introduced curry...

Around the Web

Sun, Jan 14 2018

The history of curry is as rich and diverse as its innumerable recipes, and Birmingham's curry scene...

Mamata: We’ll shelter those excluded...

Mamata: We’ll shelter those excluded...

South Asia

Wed, Jan 10 2018

They will be given shelter in Alipurduar and Jalpaiguri districts

Assam Muslims fearful amid drive against...

Assam Muslims fearful amid drive against...

South Asia

Thu, Jan 4 2018

BJP vowed during the campaign to act against illegal Muslim immigrants from Bangladesh

A speech for  all times

A speech for all times

Editorial

Fri, Nov 3 2017

Even today, Bangabandhu’s speech resonates with the spirit of what it means to be a Bangladeshi

Pakistan likely to legalise 2.8 million...

Pakistan likely to legalise 2.8 million...

South Asia

Sun, Oct 15 2017

The Bangali community is settled mainly in Karachi. Of them, majority had chosen to stay in Pakistan...

No country for communal violence

No country for communal violence

Editorial

Sun, Jul 2 2017

We must make sure nothing like this happens ever again

The stateless Bangalis of Karachi

The stateless Bangalis of Karachi

Around the Web

Mon, Jun 12 2017

Hundreds of thousands of Bangla-speaking people live in Karachi in terrible conditions where they are...

Langadu attacks: Section 144 lifted,...

Langadu attacks: Section 144 lifted,...

Crime

Sat, Jun 3 2017

Authorities claimed that the situation had turned normal, though the adivasis refrained from going to...

1 killed as Adivasi villages torched...

1 killed as Adivasi villages torched...

Nation

Fri, Jun 2 2017

Langadu upazila administration has formed a three-member committee to investigate the incident

Are we hypocrites?

Are we hypocrites?

Arpeeta Shams Mizan

Thu, Apr 27 2017

We claim to care about human rights, but steer clear of topics that make us uncomfortable