• Saturday, Jan 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 04:44 pm
Choking on air

Choking on air

Editorial

Fri, Jan 24 2020

Not enough is being done to combat air pollution, and this needs to change

Air Quality Index: Dhaka ranks 2nd...

Air Quality Index: Dhaka ranks 2nd...

Dhaka

Thu, Jan 23 2020

The air quality has been classified as very unhealthy

New York sues Trump administration to...

New York sues Trump administration to...

North America

Fri, Jan 17 2020

More than two-thirds of New Yorkers regularly breathe unhealthy air, New York Attorney General Letitia...

Dhaka ranks 11th worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka ranks 11th worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka

Thu, Jan 2 2020

In Bangladesh, the AQI is based on 5 criteria pollutants

Citizens want a Dhaka free of dust,...

Citizens want a Dhaka free of dust,...

Dhaka

Thu, Jan 2 2020

Ahead of elections to the two city corporations, residents of the capital share their concerns and expectations...

Dhaka again ranks worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka again ranks worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka

Thu, Dec 26 2019

Everyone is advised to avoid all outdoor activities in this situation

Study: Only 9 days of clean air in Dhaka...

Study: Only 9 days of clean air in Dhaka...

Dhaka

Tue, Dec 24 2019

When the AQI value is between 201 and 300, city dwellers may begin to experience health effects

Illegal sand stockpiles on Dhaka-Benapole...

Illegal sand stockpiles on Dhaka-Benapole...

Nation

Thu, Dec 19 2019

The locals alleged that the authorities were unable to stop these influential businessmen or  take...

Smog forces schools shut in Iran

Smog forces schools shut in Iran

Middle East

Sun, Dec 15 2019

Trucks were banned outright in Tehran province

Dhaka ranks 8th worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka ranks 8th worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka

Tue, Dec 10 2019

Dhaka had a score of 189 at 9:19am on Tuesday morning

In pictures: Exhausting your breath,...

In pictures: Exhausting your breath,...

Image Gallery

Thu, Dec 5 2019

Illegal brick fields set up on a cropland that pollute the environment of Dhaka. The high chimneys along...

Dhaka’s air quality improves

Dhaka’s air quality improves

Dhaka

Thu, Dec 5 2019

The world’s worst air quality was detected in Delhi

Mobile court fines metro rail contractors...

Mobile court fines metro rail contractors...

Dhaka

Wed, Nov 27 2019

The contractors are Tekken Corporation, Abdul Monem Ltd, and Abenikko

Dhaka ranks worst in AQI for 2nd time...

Dhaka ranks worst in AQI for 2nd time...

Dhaka

Tue, Nov 26 2019

Dhaka had a score of 242 on Tuesday morning

Dhaka ranks 3rd worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka ranks 3rd worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka

Thu, Nov 21 2019

The AQI, an index for reporting daily air quality, tells people how clean or polluted the city air...

Dhaka ranks worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka ranks worst in Air Quality...

Dhaka

Sun, Nov 17 2019

 Delhi, Chengdu and Kolkata occupied the next three slots

Delhi's schools to reopen next week,...

Delhi's schools to reopen next week,...

South Asia

Fri, Nov 15 2019

The city government of Delhi had imposed a two-day shutdown on schools for a second time this month after...

Haze wraps Delhi again as air quality...

Haze wraps Delhi again as air quality...

South Asia

Mon, Nov 11 2019

A dip in wind speed and temperature is making air denser, trapping pollutants, worsening air

Mothers-to-be fear for their unborn...

Mothers-to-be fear for their unborn...

South Asia

Sat, Nov 9 2019

India is home to 14 of the world's 15 most polluted cities, according to the World Health...

What is Bangladesh doing to combat air...

What is Bangladesh doing to combat air...

Bangladesh

Thu, Nov 7 2019

Residents of Dhaka and Narayanganj breathe worst quality of air in the country

Infographic: Poor air cuts lives short...

Infographic: Poor air cuts lives short...

South Asia

Wed, Nov 6 2019

As smog chokes New Delhi, a new study shows air pollution can cut life expectancy by up to seven years...