• Saturday, Apr 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:18 pm

PM: Bangalis’ successes cannot be wiped out

  • Published at 12:47 pm February 20th, 2017
  • Last updated at 08:39 pm February 20th, 2017
PM: Bangalis’ successes cannot be wiped out
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has urged her compatriots to remain cautious so that none destroy the achievements and successes of the Bangladeshi people. “As a nation, Bangladeshis have earned everything in exchange for huge sacrifices and struggles. We have to hold up these achievements and remain careful so that none can wipe out these achievements,” the premier said while distributing the Ekushey Padak-2017 at Osmani Memorial Hall on Monday. Ekushey Padak, the second highest civilian award of the country in memory of the martyrs of the Bengali Language Movement of 1952, is given every year to individuals and organisations for substantial contribution in various fields including literature, music, education, journalism, poverty reduction, research, and visual arts. This year seventeen eminent personalities were given the Ekushey Padak in recognition to their outstanding contribution in the fields of language movement, culture, journalism, research, education, science and technology and social welfare. [caption id="attachment_47946" align="aligncenter" width="800"]PM Sheikh Hasina with the 2017 Ekushey Padak winners PID PM Sheikh Hasina with the 2017 Ekushey Padak winners PID[/caption] The award recipients are Professor Dr Sharifa Khatun (Language Movement), Sushama Das (music), Julhas Uddin Ahmed (music), Ustad Ajijul Islam (music), Tanvir Mokammel (film), Syed Abdullah Khalid (sculpture), Sara Zaker (acting), Abul Momen (journalism), Syed Akram Hossain (research), Professor Emeritus Alamgir Mohammad Sirajuddin (education), Professor Zamilur Reza Choudhury (science and technology), Professor Dr Mahmud Hasan (social welfare), poet Omar Ali (posthumously, language and literature), Sukumar Barua (language and literature), Swadesh Roy (journalism), Shamim Ara Nipa (choreography), and Rahmatullah Al Mahmud Selim (music). Minister for Cultural Affairs Asaduzzaman Noor presided over the function which was conducted by Cabinet Secretary M Shafiul Alam. Secretary in Charge of the Ministry of Cultural Affairs Ministry Ibrahim Hossain Khan gave the welcome address. Cabinet members, the PM's advisors, judges, MPs, foreign diplomats, litterateurs, academics, Ekushey Award laureates of previous years and senior civil and military officials attended the function. Congratulating the Ekushey Padak recipients, the prime minster hoped the award would inspire the future generation to do more great work for the people, who would learn from them and follow in their footprints.