• Sunday, Jan 19, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:14 pm

141 individuals, corporations awarded tax cards

  • Published at 11:09 pm November 14th, 2019
Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal hands over tax card to a top taxpayer at a ceremony in the capital’s Radisson Blu hotel on Thursday, November 14, 2019 Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Kamal vows to reduce tax rates

The government would reduce the tax rates to boost the interest of the citizen in paying more tax, said Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal on Thursday.

He pledged this while speaking as the chief guest at a award giving ceremony of the highest taxpayers for the 2018-19 fiscal year.

“We will reduce the tax rates as I promised earlier. We will form a committee soon to finalize the reduced tax structure so that it does not weigh on the government’s earnings. I believe it will create more interest among the citizen to pay tax,” he said.

Kamal also said people might find it difficult to pay tax for its cumbersome process.

“We are trying to make the process easier. We will also ensure that your tax money is utilized in a proper way.”    

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) at the programme gave tax cards to 74 individuals, 57 companies and 10 other entities under different categories for their outstanding contributions to the national exchequer for the 2018-19 fiscal year.

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal handed over the tax cards in a ceremony in the capital’s Radisson Blu hotel.

Among the 74 individuals, Golam Dastagir Gazi won the tax card under the Senior Citizen category, Lt Gen (retd.) Abu Saleh Md Nasim under the Injured Freedom fighter category, Sukarna Ghosh under the Physically Challenged category,   Rubaiyat Farzana Hossain under the Women category and Nafis Shikder won under the Young (under 40) category.

In addition, national cricketer Tamim Iqbal topped the list in the  Player category along with Shakib Al Hasan and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Anisul Islam Hiru won the award in the Actor category, Fazle Nur Taposh under the Lawyer category, MD Kaus Mia under the Businessmen category, Mohammad Yusuf under the Service-holder category, AKM Fazlul Haque under the Doctor category and Mahfuz Anam won the award in the Journalist category.

Rezaul Karim won the award under the Engineer category, MD Moktar Hossain under the Accountant category, MD Matiur Rahman under the New Taxpayers category and Tahsan Rahman won the award under the Singer category.

Among the companies, Islami Bank topped the winner list in the Banking category, Infrastructure Development Company Limited (IDCOL) in the Non-banking category, Grameenphone in the Telecommunication category, Bangladesh Machine Tools Factory under the Engineering category, Nestle in Food and Others category and Titas Gas Transmission and Distribution Company won the tax award in the Energy category.

Akij Jute Mills won the award in the Jute industry category, Coats Bangladesh Ltd in the Spinning and Textile category, Unilever Bangladesh in the Medicine category, Mediastar Ltd in the Print and Electronic Media category, Rangs Properties Ltd in the Real estate category, Bata Shoe in the Tannery industry category and British American Tobacco Limited won the award in Others category.

NBR Chairman M Mosharraf Hossain Bhuiyan, Prime Minister’s Economic Affairs Advisor Mashiur Rahman and Chairman of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Economic Affairs Abul Hasan Mahmud Ali  was also present at the event.