• Monday, Sep 23, 2019
  • Last Update : 10:04 pm

Winners of NSU ACM SC Innovation Challenge Season 4 awarded

  • Published at 01:23 am April 20th, 2018
  • Last updated at 04:30 pm April 21st, 2018
Winners of NSU ACM SC Innovation Challenge Season 4 awarded
The winners of the North South University Association for Computing Machinery Student Chapter (NSU ACM SC) Innovation Challenge Season 4 pose for a photograph after receiving their awards on Wednesday. Department of ICT Director General AKM Khairul Alam was the chief guest at the award ceremony, with  DU Pro Vice-Chancellor (Designate) Prof GU Ahsan in chair. NSU School of Engineering and Physical Sciences Dean Prof Arshad M Chowdhury, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Chairman Prof Sazzad Hossain, and Director of Student Affairs Parisa Shakur were also in attendance, among others. The event ended with a vote of thanks from Zunayeed Bin Zahir, faculty advisor to the NSU ACM SC. A total 54 teams showcased their innovative ideas at this years competition, with the winning teams to receive GP in-house training and priority in the GP Accelerator Start-up, among other prizes. First prize went to Tanvir Mahtab Uddin, Fahim Ahmed Kafi, Israt Jahan Tamanna and Md Zoinul Abedin for their project titled “Smart Home Design.” Joyeta Saha, Nixon dutta and Faysal Sarkar received second prize for their project on “A novel design of robotic helping hand with multi DOF for paralyzed Patients,” while the joint third prize winners were Md Shahriyar Kabir, Tasnuva Khan Dia, Zaid Farzan Chowdhury and Muntasir al Khaledunnabi for “Conserve and Reserve: A new approach to home automation and bill management system” and Rafael Hossain Rakin, Asad Siam and Md Rafayet Hossain for their project on “A low cost and portable ECG Machine.” In addition, Cramstak and Barikoi, two companies run by alumni of the NSU Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, were given the special recognition award. The event was jointly organized by the NSU Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and NSU ACM SC.