• Tuesday, Apr 20, 2021
  • Last Update : 07:10 pm

Prime minister inaugurates 7 power plants

  • Published at 11:10 am November 13th, 2019
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurates newly constructed power plants through video conferencing from her official residence Ganobhaban on Wednesday, November 13, 2019 PID

As of Wednesday, Bangladesh's electricity generation capacity reached a total of 22,562MW

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has inaugurated seven new power plants, which added 790MW of electricity to the national grid.

She launched the newly-constructed power plants through a video conference, from her official residence Ganobhaban on Wednesday.

The seven power plants are: Anwara 300MW Power Plant, Rangpur 113MW Power Plant, Karnaphuli 110MW Power Plant, Shikalbaha 105MW Power Plant, Patia 54MW Power Plant, Tetulia 8MW Solar Power Plant, and Gazipur 100MW Power Plant, reports UNB.

As of Wednesday, Bangladesh's electricity generation capacity reached a total of 22,562MW, where more than 94% of the population has come under electricity coverage.

At the same time, the premier also launched 100% power coverage in 23 upazilas under ten districts of the country.

The 23 upazilas under 100% power coverage are: Gabtali, Sherpur and Shibganj in Bogra district, Lohagara in Chittagong, Madhukhali, Nagarkanda, and Saltha in Faridpur district, Fulchhari, Gaibandha Sadar and Palashbari in Gaibandha district, and Madhappur and Nabiganj in Habiganj district.

Besides, Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah district, Karimganj under Kishoreganj, Baraigram, Lalpur and Singra under Natore district, Barhatta and Mahonganj in Netrokona district, Bhandaria, Kaukhali, and Indurkani under Pirojpur district are also coming under the same electricity coverage.

As part of achieving 100% electricity coverage in Bangladesh, Bangladesh Power Development Board (BPDB) has implemented massive programs to increase generation capacity to 24,000MW by 2021, and 40,000 MW by 2030.

Facebook 58
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail