• Monday, Oct 25, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:53 am

PM: We will illuminate every household

  • Published at 01:56 pm February 6th, 2019
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina addressing to the press after inaugurating six power plants and nine grid substations via videoconference from her official Ganabhaban residence, in Dhaka, on Wednesday, February 6, 2019 Focus Bangla

She said this after inaugurating six power plants and nine grid substations

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said her government is working relentlessly to ensure every household, nationwide, can access electricity.

“The government is working to present a different Bangladesh on the celebration of the golden jubilee of independence in 2021,” she said while inaugurating six power plants and nine grid substations on Wednesday.

Due to this initiative, as much as 1,062MW of electricity has been added to Bangladesh’s national grid.

The premier opened the power plants and grid substations via videoconference from her official Ganabhaban residence, in Dhaka, on Wednesday morning.

At the same function, Sheikh Hasina also launched the power supply to Sandwip upazila in Chittagong via submarine cable—the first of its kind in Bangladesh—and the 100% electrification of 12 upazilas.

The six power plants inaugurated by the prime minister are the: Sirajganj 282MW Simple Cycle Power Plant, Bhola 225MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chandpur 200MW Power Plant, Ashuganj 150MW Power Plant, Rupsha105MW Power Plantin Khulna, and Julda100MW Power Plant (3rd unit) in Chittagong.

Also Read- PM opens 6 power plants, 9 grid stations

The nine grid substations are: Ramganj, Barisal (North), Baroiyerhat, Shikalbaha, Jaldhaka, Sunamganj, Bianibazar, Rangamati, and Matarbari.

The 12 upazilas which came under 100% power coverage are: Harinakundu, Thakurgaon Sadar, Baliadangi, Goalanda, Kalukhali, Bamna, Lakhai, Shaistaganj, Ajmiriganj, Bahubal, Melandah, and Islampur.

According to officials of the power ministry, a total of 306 upazilas have so far been brought under the 100% electricity coverage plan.

Of them, 100% electrification has been inaugurated in 263 upazilas, and will be launched in the remaining 43 upazilas by June this year, the officials said.

The prime minister’s Energy Adviser Dr Towfik-e-Elahi Chowdhury and State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid Bipu spoke at the function.

Power Division Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus gave an overview of overall development in the power sector, while the prime minister’s Principal Secretary, Dr Nojibur Rahman, moderated the function.

Dr Kaikaus said as many as 92% of people have been brought under electricity coverage, and Bangladesh has achieved the capability to produce 20,854MW of electricity.

“Bangladesh has now been turned into a power surplus country from a deficit one, thanks to the inauguration of 100 new power plants over the last 10 years,” he said.

Former ministers and Awami League senior leaders Tofail Ahmed and Mosharraf Hossain; former state minister Mirza Azam; ex-deputy minister Abdullah Islam Al Jakob; and parliament members of the areas concerned were present at the Ganabhaban.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail