• Wednesday, Jul 08, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:58 am

‘BNP gave you 1,600MW, we gave you 16,000MW’

  • Published at 03:46 pm December 10th, 2017
  • Last updated at 01:14 am December 11th, 2017
‘BNP gave you 1,600MW, we gave you 16,000MW’
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said 1,600MW electricity was produced during the BNP government’s tenure while 16,000MW was produced during the Awami League government’s tenure. She made the statement while inaugurating four power plants and 100% electrification in 10 upazilas through a video conference from her official Ganabhaban residence on Sunday. The prime minister said: “There was no electricity at the time of BNP; a lot of areas in Dhaka remained in the dark. “We started our journey with 1,600MW electricity and now we have produced 16,000MW electricity,” Hasina said, adding that she hopes the people will remember the contribution. She said: “Be it for industrial development or other work, we need electricity for everything. So, our aim was to produce electricity fast. “Our aim is to make electricity available for all. We are proving electricity even in remote areas with solar panels.” She said her government is working to make the lives of people beautiful and easy. The prime minister said: “After coming to power, our first aim was to provide electricity to all and educate people. We strived to develop the entire region and ensure equal distribution. “Today, Bangladesh is a role model for development.” She said BNP was involved in corruption like loot, money laundering, torture, and bribe. The Awami League president said: “They [BNP] made Bangladesh the champion in corruption for five years. They created militancy and Bangla Bhai.” “Their aim was to torture Awami League leaders, and they are the ones behind the grenade attack on me,” she said, adding that BNP did not work for the development of people. PM's Energy Adviser Dr Towfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury and State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid Bipu spoke at the function from Ganabhaban. Law Minister Advocate Anisul Haque, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing on the Ministry of Power M Tazul Islam, Saudi Ambassador to Bangladesh Abdullah HM Al Mutairi, Kuwaiti Ambassador to Bangladesh Adel Mohammed A.H. Hayat and senior officials of the Saudi Export Programme and Saudi Fund for Development were present at Ganabhaban. The power plants are Shikalbaha 225-MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chapainawabganj 100-MW Power Plant, Shalla 400 kilowatt Solar Power Plant and Sharishabari 3-MW Solar Power Plant. The 10 upazilas brought under 100 percent electrification are Faridpur Sadar upazila in Faridpur, Rajoir upazila in Madaripur, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Akhaura in Brahmmanbaria, Brahmmanbaria Sadar, Shalikha in Magura, Meherpur Sadar, Madan in Netrakona and Belabo in Narsingdi.
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail