• Tuesday, Dec 01, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:37 am

Eggs, stones hurled at Fakhrul's Uttara house

  • Published at 10:04 am October 11th, 2020
BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir holds a press conference at the BNP heaquarters in Dhaka’s Naya Paltan on Saturday, December 21, 2019 Rajib Dhar/Dhaka Tribune

Government agents were behind the attack, BNP claims

A group of supporters of BNP leader M Kofiluddin Ahmed on Saturday threw eggs and stones towards the house of party Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir in Dhaka's Uttara area.

Witnesses and party insiders claimed that around 100 supporters of Kofiluddin gathered in front of Fakhrul's house at Sector 4 around 3pm and started demonstration there demanding the party's decision of nominating SM Jahangir for contesting the Dhaka 18 by-polls be revoked.

They also chanted various slogans in favour of Kofiluddin and demanded that he be given the party ticket.

At one stage, some protesters threw eggs and stones towards Fakhrul's house, damaging some windowpanes.

Fakhrul was at home during the attack.

However, BNP claimed that government agents were behind the attack on Fakhrul's house.

In a statement, Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi said the party's Standing Committee discussed the matter at a meeting on Saturday night and strongly condemned it.

He said the government agents carried out the attack to divert the ongoing movement against rape and violence against women to a different direction.

On Friday, BNP picked SM Jahangir and Selim Reza as its candidates to contest the upcoming Dhaka 18 and Sirajganj 1 by-elections.

Fakhrul announced the names of the candidates of "Sheaf of Paddy" for the two by-polls at a press conference at BNP Chairperson's Gulshan office.

The Dhaka 18 seat fell vacant after the death of former minister and Awami League presidium member Sahara Khatun on July 9, while Sirajganj 1 seat turned vacant following the demise of former minister and Awami League presidium member Mohammed Nasim on June 13.

The by-elections to the two constituencies will be held on November 12 using electronic voting machines (EVMs).

On September 12, nine aspirants, including Jahangir and Kofiluddin faced an interview of BNP's nomination board to get the party's ticket to contest the Dhaka 18 by-election.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail