• Friday, Sep 18, 2020
  • Last Update : 05:51 pm

BNP worried over ‘growing number of murders in police firing’

  • Published at 08:10 pm August 9th, 2020
web-gunfight-hand gun
Photo: Bigstock

They also said that DSA is being used to snatch freedom of speech, freedom of the press, and suppress dissents

The standing committee of BNP has voiced its deep concerns over the growing incidents of killing in police firing in the country.

In a virtual meeting on Saturday night, members of the BNP’s policymaking body also decided to hold a press conference soon on the murder of Army Major (retd) Sinha Md Rashed and extrajudicial killings, said a press release on Sunday.

The BNP senior leaders said the incidents of extrajudicial killing and the violation of human rights by law enforcers are increasing alarmingly in the country

They also expressed their worry over the murder of Army Major (retd) Rashed in Cox’s Bazar’s Teknaf in police firing and the deaths of other people in police custody over the last five years.

The BNP policymakers alleged the incidents of filing false cases, arresting and harassing people using the Digital Security Act (DSA) are on the rise in the country.

They also said that DSA is being used to snatch freedom of speech, freedom of the press, and suppress dissents.

“The current illegitimate government is conspiring to stay in power and establish a one-party system of government in an undemocratic way,” the BNP leaders observed.

They also discussed the country’s current coronavirus situation and accused the government of its failure to contain the virus transmission.

The BNP leader said the government cannot protect people from the infections of the deadly virus due to its “negligence and indifference.”

The BNP standing committee also expressed deep shock over the death of its vice-chairman and former minister Abdul Mannan and the deaths of other leaders from Covid-19.

Party standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Rafiqul Islam Miah, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, Begum Selima Rahman, and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku joined the meeting.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail