• Thursday, Apr 09, 2020
  • Last Update : 03:05 am

Khaleda Zia will self quarantine

  • Published at 12:39 am March 26th, 2020
Khaleda-Zia-Released-Mahmud Hossain Opu-BSMMU
File photo: BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia, assisted by her sister Selima Rahman, younger brother Shamim Eskander and his wife Kaniz Fatema, comes out of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) on Wednesday, March 25, 2020 Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka Tribune

'During the next 14 days nobody will be allowed to go in or out of her house'

BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia is in self quarantine after her release, as many of her party leaders and activists crowed outside the cabin wing of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU), to receive her when she walked out of the prison cell on an executive order.

The chairpersons press wing official Shamsuddin Dider confirmed to Dhaka Tribune that she will be in self quarantine for 14 days as recommended by the medical board, formed to treat her.

The party’s Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on a mike on Wednesday repeatedly urged party leaders and activists to move away from the BSMMU premises but his call fell on deaf ears. 

Even members of law enforcement agencies were unable to stop BNP activists from crowding the area, said an official. The Covid-19 pandemic that is sweeping across the globe has also been detected in Bangladesh and the government has enforced a strict shutdown of all non essential businesses and restricted movement. 

Although most of the BNP leaders and followers were seen wearing masks and other personal protective gears, some had no safety gear, worring as health experts who have suggested all large crowds should be avoided. 

“During the next 14 days nobody will be allowed to go in or out of her house. She will not meet any of her family or BNP leaders. There will be one nurse to take care of her,” Shamsuddin Dider added.

BNP Vice-Chairman Dr AZM Zahid Hossain said the former prime minister is under the supervision of a six-member medical board headed by Dr FM Siddiqui.

The other members of the board are Dr Rajibul Alam, Dr Sirajuddin Ahmed, Dr Wahidur Rahman, Dr Habibur Rahman and Dr MA Kuddus.