• Thursday, Feb 25, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:30 pm

Dhaka city polls: AL fields Taposh, Atiqul as mayoral candidates

  • Published at 11:11 am December 29th, 2019
Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader holds hands with Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Atiqul Islam during a press briefing at Awami League president's Dhanmondi office on Sunday, December 29, 2019 Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka Tribune

Taposh resigns as Dhaka 10 MP, his brother Parash may fill his vacated seat; AL drops 58 ward councillors for ties to illegal casinos, crimes; JaPa picks Kamrul in DNCC, Milon in DSCC as mayoral runners

The Awami League has picked Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Atiqul Islam as its mayoral candidates for the elections to Dhaka's two city corporations, slated for January 30.

The ruling party’s General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced their names at the party chief's Dhanmondi political office on Sunday.

Party sources said, this time Awami League did not pick Sayeed Khokon, the incumbent Dhaka South City Corporation mayor, because of his failure to bring positive changes in his area. He also received widespread criticism because of his failure in tackling this year’s dengue outbreak.

Explaining the reasons for choosing Taposh and Atiqul, Quader said they have considered the candidates’ acceptance and popularity among the people and their potential to win the elections.

Awami League  General Secretary Obaidul Quader announces names of mayoral candidates for Dhaka's two city corporation elections  Awami League president's Dhanmondi office on Sunday, December 29, 2019 | Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka TribuneAtiqul has been serving as mayor of Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) since February this year, while Taposh is the outgoing   MP from Dhaka 10 constituency, and AL’s other mayoral candidate.

In an instant reaction, both of them expressed gratitude and thanked the Awami League chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for choosing them for the mayoral races.

Taposh said he had a master plan to make DSCC areas prosperous and developed by 2041, while Atiqul said he wanted the combined efforts of DNCC and DSCC to make Dhaka city beautiful as a whole.

After receiving the party’s endorsement to run for DSCC mayor, Taposh resigned as the Dhaka 10 MP and Speaker of the parliament, Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, accepted his resignation letter on Sunday, confirmed his Personal Secretary Tarek Shikder.

Later in the evening, the Parliament Secretariat also issued a gazette declaring the seat vacant.

The ruling party is likely to choose his brother Prof Sheikh Fazle Shams Parash, recently elected Awami Jubo League chairman, as the MP candidate in the by-polls to that constituency, said sources.

According to the Election Commission, the mayoral and councillor aspirants of both DNCC and DSCC will have to submit their nomination papers to the commission by December 31.

The nomination papers will be scrutinized on January 2, while the aspirants will have until January 9 to withdraw their candidature.

Taposh: A three time lawmaker

Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh is the son of Jubo League founder Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni, who was a nephew of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Taposh is a three time lawmaker for the Dhaka 10 constituency.

His uncle Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim is a member of the Awami League Presidium and the current MP for Gopalganj 2 constituency. Selim is also a former Jubo League chairman.

Atiqul: Businessman turned mayor

Atiqul was backed by Awami League to contest in the by-elections to the DNCC in 2018, after the death of former DNCC mayor Annisul Huq on November 30, 2017, left the post vacant.

Atiqul is a brother to former chief justice Md Tofazzal Islam and former Border Guard Bangladesh director general Moinul Islam.

A former president of the Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association, Atiqul now heads the Centre of Excellence for Bangladesh Apparel Industries.

58 new ward councillor candidates

The Awami League on Sunday also declared its candidates for the councillor posts in 129 wards under both DSCC and DNCC.

The party picked new candidates in 58 of those wards, said a press release signed by its Office Secretary BIplab Barua, and chose to field 71 current councillors as its candidates.

Sources said the ruling party decided not to nominate incumbent ward councillors who were found to be involved in the recently busted illegal casino businesses and other unlawful practices.

Of those dropped, 25 councillors were from 54 wards under DNCC and 33 were from 75 wards under DSCC.

JaPa picks Kamrul, Milon 

Meanwhile, Jatiya Party (JaPa), the main opposition in parliament, on Sunday also announced Brig Gen (retd) Kamrul Islam and Haji Saifuddin Ahmed Milon as its mayoral candidates for the upcoming Dhaka city corporation elections.

JaPa Chairman’s Deputy Press Secretary Delwar Jalali said Kamrul was chosen to run as the DNCC mayor candidate and Milon as the DSCC candidate.

Former army official Kamrul joined JaPa last week while Milon is a former member of the party Presidium, who unsuccessfully contested the 2015 DSCC mayoral polls on the party ticket.

Facebook 58
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail