• Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:45 am

Quader warns BNP against anarchy

  • Published at 05:39 pm November 29th, 2019
Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader
File photo of Awami League general secretary and minister for road transport and bridges Obaidul Quader Focus Bangla

He announced the names of newly elected leaders of Matsajibi League in a council session

Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader has said actions will be taken if BNP carries out anarchy in the name of movement.

“Befitting reply will be given if BNP wants to fish in troubled water by creating disorder in the name of movement,” he told the inaugural session of the national council of Awami Matsajibi (fishermen) League at Krishibid Institution in Bangladesh (KIB) auditorium on Friday.

Quader said BNP does not abide by rules of law and court procedures, reports BSS.

“To create pressure on the court for the release of BNP chairperson Begum Khaleda Zia, the party’s leaders and workers carried out vandalism, launched attacks on police and hurled brickbats on the premises of court,” he added.

The Awami League general secretary urged the party leaders and workers to remain alert, saying conspiracy is being hatched to thwart the popular government of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

About the Matsajibi League, Quader said: “We do not want any leader who will be involved with extortion. We want clean-image leadership.”

Awami League Presidium Member Matia Chowdhury, Office Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap and Relief and Social Welfare Secretary Sujit Roy Nandi were present on the occasion, among others.

Matsajibi League Council Preparatory Committee convener Narayan Chandra Das presided over the function. Later in the council session, Obaidul Quader announced the names of newly elected leaders of Matsajibi League.

Md Saifur Rahman and Sheikh Ajgar Laskar were elected president and general secretary respectively of the organization.

Saidul Alam Manik was made the executive president. Vice-presidents are Abul Bashar, Abdul Gafur, Mohammad Alam, Babul Miah, Mir Asaduzzaman, Shahe Alam Mia and Nasrin Sultana. Engineer Abdul Alim, Tipu Sultan and Rafiqul Islam Rafiq were made joint general secretaries.

Earlier in the morning, the Awami League general secretary inaugurated the council by playing the national anthem.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail