• Saturday, Jan 18, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:07 pm

Fazlul Huq, Azam Khasru new Sramik League president, GS

  • Published at 07:52 pm November 9th, 2019

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced their names

Fazlul Huq Montu, Azam Khasru and Molla Abul Kalam Azad have been made new Sramik League president, general secretary, and executive president respectively.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced their names in the afternoon, reports UNB.  

Earlier, the prime minister inaugurated the council of Sramik League through the hoisting of the national flag with national anthem playing. 

The function was addressed, among others, by Labour and Manpower Affairs Secretary Habibur Rahman Siraj, State Minister for Labour and Employment Begum Munnujan Sufian, ILO Country Director Tuomo Poutiainen, General Secretary of the ITUC Asia-Pacific Shoya Yoshida, and General of South Asian Regional Trade Union Council Laxman Bahadur Basnet.

Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman founded the Sramik League in 1969 aiming to protect the rights of workers. 

The last council session of the Jatiya Sramik League was held seven years back on July 17, 2019, when Sukkur Mahmud and Sirajul Islam were made president and secretary respectively.