• Wednesday, Jan 22, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:18 pm

Krishak League gets new president, gen secy

  • Published at 04:46 pm November 6th, 2019
krishak league
Newly appointed president of Bangladesh Krishak League Shamir Chanda and general secretary Umme Kulsum Smrity Collected

Earlier, the prime minister inaugurated the organization’s 10th national council

Shamir Chanda has been made the new president of Krishak League.

Awamli League General Secretary Obaibul Quader made the announcement during the second session of Krishak League’s 10th national council at the Institute of Engineer, Bangladesh (IEB) on Wednesday.

Quader also announced the name of Umme Kulsum Smrity at the organization’s general secretary.

Earlier in the day, the prime minister inaugurated the triennial council of Krishak League by hoisting the national flag with national anthem at Suhrawardy Udyan.

She also released doves and balloons, and witnessed a colourful cultural program.

The prime minister said: “We will be developed, we will be [an] industrialized [nation] without abandoning our farmers and agriculture."

She said the main goal of the government is to protect the rights of the farmers. "Because, agriculture keeps us alive by providing food and nutrition."

She added the government had taken all its development programs giving highest importance to farmers.

Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman formed the Krishak League on April 19, 1972 to supplement government's efforts in developing agriculture and farmers.

The last council of Bangladesh Krishak League was held on July 19, 2012 where Motaher Hosain Molla and Khandaker Shamsul Haque Reza were elected president and general secretary, respectively.