• Sunday, Dec 08, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:22 am

Rangpur by polls: EC warns Saad Ershad for violating election code of conduct

  • Published at 12:51 am September 24th, 2019
Map of Rangpur Dhaka Tribune

Mahi used photos of Ershad and the prime minister to campaign

The Election Commission (EC) warned Jatiya Party (JaPa) candidate Rahgir Al Mahi Saad Ershad for violating the election code of conduct in his Rangpur 3 by-polls campaign. All his campaign posters were ordered to be removed. 

Saad Ershad's election campaign posters used pictures of his father HM Ershad and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, prompting the order given on Monday. A stern warning was given the same day after the party campaigned with motorbikes and and an automobile 'showdown' in the city on Sunday.

Confirming the incident, Rangpur Regional Election Officer and Returning Officer GM Shahtab Uddin said they issued the order upon receiving a written complaint from Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) candidate Rita Rahman citing electoral code of conduct violations.

"Until now 11 executive magistrates have been assigned to ensure the electoral code of conduct is followed. Provisional penalties will be used regarding any violation of the code of conduct," added Shahtab Uddin.

Rita told the media that her election campaign was hindered at the Grand Hotel intersection area in Rangpur city on Sunday.

Similar allegations were made by independent contestant Hossain Mokbul Shahriar Asif, a rebel JaPa candidate and nephew of Ershad.

Rangpur 3 by-polls contestants are busy campaigning full steam since being assigned electoral symbols by the election officer on September 17.

The Rangpur parliamentary constituency, which fell vacant after the death of JaPa founder Ershad in July, is due to be filled in the October 5 elections.

According to the returning officer, a total of 441,224 voters are eligible to cast their votes. Of them, 220,823 are men, and 220,401 are women.

Votes will be cast using electronic voting machines (EVM) at all 1,023 booths of 175 polling centres across the constituency between 9am and 5pm.

3,244 election officials, including 175 presiding officers and 3,069 assistant presiding officers and polling officers, will conduct the balloting process.