• Sunday, Dec 15, 2019
  • Last Update : 10:23 pm

Distressed Chhatra Dal faction demonstrates in front of BNP HQ

  • Published at 07:08 pm June 16th, 2019
Leaders and activists of the recently-dissolved Chhatra Dal central committee protest in front of BNP's Naya Paltan headquarters on Sunday, June 16, 2019 Focus Bangla

Similar demonstrations to follow on Monday

Leaders and activists of a faction of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) have demonstrated in front of BNP's Naya Paltan headquarters demanding removal of age-limit clause to join the new committee.

Several hundred disgruntled leaders and activists of the recently-dissolved Chhatra Dal central committee protested in from the office for about two hours starting 11am, reports UNB.

They also announced to stage a similar 2-hour protest on Monday.

Earlier on June 11, the same faction demonstrated in front of the BNP office and locked its main gate for 11 hours. They postponed their demonstrations after senior BNP leaders assured their demands would be met.

Also Read- Chhatra Dal calls off protest movement following negotiations

Azmal Hossain Pilot, senior vice president of the recently-dissolved central committee, said they resumed their protest since BNP leaders did not fulfill their promises.

He said the peaceful demonstrations are to continue to mount pressure on the BNP higher-ups. 

Azmal said they want the BNP to form a short-term Chhatra Dal committee that will not have any age ceiling.

The central committee was dissolved on June 3. In an official statement, signed by the party’s Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, the party said a new committee will be formed within the next 45 days based on the opinions of its councillors.

The statement also said candidates planning to contest for various posts will have to be primary members, students of any educational institutions in Bangladesh and must have passed SSC and equivalent examinations after 2000.

Chhatra Dal's last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary.