• Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:49 am

Jatiya Party picks Nurul Islam Omor for Bogra 6 by-polls

  • Published at 05:30 pm May 21st, 2019
Web_Nurul Islam Omor-JaPa-Collected
File photo of Nurul Islam Omor Collected

He won in the Bogra 6 constituency by a huge margin in the 2014 election

Joint Secretary-General of the Central Committee and General Secretary of Bogra District, Nurul Islam Omor has been picked by Jatiya Party to contest in the Bogra 6 by-polls.

Former MP Nurul Islam Omar will compete in the by-elections using the Langal symbol.

He won in the Bogra 6 constituency by a huge margin in the 2014 election.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on April 30 declared the Bogra 6 constituency vacant, as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir had not taken oath as MP, nor sought time before the deadline expiration.

As per the law, if any MP-elect refrains from taking oath within 90 days after the beginning of the first session, or refrains from informing the speaker, his/her membership gets cancelled.

The Election Commission has announced that fresh polls will be held for Bogra 6 constituency on June 24.

The last date for submitting nomination papers is May 23, and candidates will be able to withdraw nominations by June 3. The nomination papers will be scrutinized on May 27.

The symbols will be allocated among the candidates on June 4.

Although Fakhrul refrained from taking oath, five other BNP MPs, were however sworn in to the 11th parliament. While four of them took oath on April 29, the other was sworn in on April 25.