• Friday, Oct 30, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:42 pm

Hanif: Fakhrul abstains from oath fearing loss of party post

  • Published at 02:49 pm April 29th, 2019
WEB- Hanif
Ruling Awami League Acting General Secretary Mahabubul Alam Hanif addressing the press along with the Khulna Awami League's root-level leaders at the party's central office in the Dhaka's Bangabandhu Avenue on Monday, April 29, 2019 Courtesy

The Awami League leader claimed that Fakhrul is not accountable to the people of Bangladesh

BNP's Mirza Fakrul Islam Alamgir is abstaining from taking his oath as a member of the present parliament because he is afraid he will lose his post as the party's secretary general.

Ruling Awami League Acting General Secretary Mahabubul Alam Hanif claimed this during a meeting of Khulna Awami League's root-level leaders at the party's central office in the Dhaka's Bangabandhu Avenue on Monday.

Hanif said: "BNP's Acting Chairman Tarique Rahman has been convicted of corruption. He has also been convicted for the August 21 grenade attack.

"He is a fugitive and Mirza Fakrul Islam Alamgir is now the leader of BNP. If he takes the oath, he might lose his post as secretary general of the party. 

"He is not taking the oath as he fears that he will lose his post if he does.

"Fakrul is not taking the oath as he has no accountability towards the general people," he added.

Also Read: BNP's Zahidur takes oath as MP

Hanif—alleging that BNP, and Jamaat are like cancer for Bangladesh—said: "Leaders of Jamaat and BNP do not acknowledge Bangladesh's development."

He urged the general public, as well as the leaders and activists of Awami League, to build a strong organization to protect Bangladesh from these evil forces.

Among others, Awami League Joint General Secretary Abdur Rahman, and Organizing Secretary Abu Saed Al Mahmud Swapan were present at the event.

Previously on Thursday, BNP MP-elect Zahidur Rahman Zahid was sworn in.

With Zahidur's oath taking, 295 MPs-elect out of 300 in the 11th parliamentary polls have so far been sworn in.

Now only five BNP MPs-elect, including Fakhrul, are left to take oath. The constitution says they must be sworn in by April 29 if they want to be members of the current parliamentary session.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail