• Monday, Aug 26, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:01 am

Fakhrul: Prompt action to be taken against Zahidur

  • Published at 10:51 pm April 25th, 2019
web-File photo of BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir
File photo of BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka tribune

The Thakurgaon 3 MP took oath in the 11th Parliament, violating his party’s decision

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir has said their party will take prompt action against Zahidur Rahman Zahid for committing an organizational offence by taking oath as an MP violating the party’s decision.

"Our party's decision is not to take oaths by our party MPs-elect. It will be considered as an organizational offence if anyone is sworn in, breaching the decision. Zahidur has committed such an offence," Fakhrul said on Thursday, reports UNB.

The BNP leader further said: "We will soon take organizational action against him [Zahid]."

He said there is no reason for their party to change its decision of not joining parliament.

Fakhrul, who is one of the BNP's MPs-elects, said he will not take oath.

Earlier in the day, Zahidur of Thakurgaon 3 constituency took oath as a member of the 11th parliament, violating his party decision.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in around 12pm at the Jatiya Sangsad.

Zahidur was elected as MP with BNP's ticket in the December 30 general election. BNP along with Gono Forum and some other parties joined the election in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum two, in the election.

The alliance turned down the election results bringing allegation of “massive vote robbery” and decided not to join parliament.

However, Gono Forum's two MPs-elect – Sultan Mohammad Mansur from Moulvibazar 2 and Mokobbir Khan of Sylhet 2 – were sworn in on March 7 and April 2, respectively.

With Zahid's oath taking, 295 MPs-elect out of 300 in the 11th general polls have so far been sworn in. 

The five other BNP MPs-elect must take oath by April 29 if they want to remain members of the current parliament.