• Monday, Dec 09, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:09 pm

Gono Forum to serve show-cause notice to Mokobbir

  • Published at 10:51 pm April 20th, 2019
web_Mukobbir Khan
File photo of Gono Forum Leader Mokobbir Khan who contested and won from Sylhet 2 constituency during the 11th general election Collected

In the last 26 years of Gono Forum, Mokobbir is the only one elected MP with its ticket and symbol

Gono Forum will send a show-cause notice to party presidium member, Mokobbir Khan, MP, for “violating” its constitution and indulging in “anti- party” activities.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the party's central committee on Saturday, said a press release.

"The meeting decided to serve a show-cause notice to Mokobbir for his activities contrary to party goals, ideals, principles, program, and the constitution," it read, reports UNB.

The party, however, did not mention how Mokabbir indulged in “anti-party” activities.

On April 2, Gono Forum MP-elect Mokobbir, from Sylhet 2 constituency took his oath of office for the 11th Parliamentary session.

Party central leaders, including its General Secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu, said Mokobbir was sworn in against the party decision.

Mokobbir, however, claimed he took oath as per party decision.

Also Read- Gono Forum’s Mokobbir to be sworn in Tuesday

Mokobbir is the second MP of the opposition coalition, Jatiya Oikya Front, to join the 11th parliament. 

Gono Forum MP-elect Sultan Muhammad Mansur, Moulvibazar 2, was sworn in on March 7.

Sultan contested the December 30 election with BNP's election symbol, "sheaf of paddy," while Mokabbir  did so with Gono Forum's "rising sun."

Gono Forum expelled Sultan within hours of his joining parliament.

In the 26 year history of Gono Forum, Mokobbir is the only leader of the party who became MP with its ticket and symbol.

BNP, Gono Forum, and some other parties, joined the December 30 election in alliance under the Jatiya Oikya Front banner. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum won two in the election.

Six BNP MPs-elect still have not taken oath since the party and the alliance turned down the election results with allegations of “massive vote robbery.”