• Thursday, May 13, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:20 am

Gono Forum’s Mokobbir takes oath, violates party's decision

  • Published at 02:31 pm April 2nd, 2019
Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in
Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in of MP Mokobbir Khan Focus Bangla

Mokobbir is the second MP of the opposition coalition to take his oath of office

Another of Gono Forum’s elected members of parliament (MP), MP Mokobbir Khan (Sylhet 2) has taken his oath as a member of the 11th parliament, violating Gono Forum's decision.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in around 12:15pm at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban, on Tuesday.

Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury and Whips Iqbalur Rahim, Mahbub Ara Begum Gini, and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapan were present at the occasion.

Mokobbir is the second MP of the opposition coalition, Jatiya Oikya Front, to join the 11th parliament, as Gono Forum MP-elect Sultan Muhammad Mansur (Moulvibazar 2) was sworn in on March 7.

On Monday, Mokobbir sent a letter to Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury requesting her to make arrangements to administer the oath to him.

Previously, on March 3, both Mansur and Mokobbir sent separate letters to the Speaker requesting her to arrange their oath-taking ceremony on the historic March 7.

However, Mokobbir Khan did not take the oath on that day.

BNP, along with Gono Forum and some other parties, joined the December 30 election in an alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikya Front. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum won two in the election.

The alliance rejected the election results, alleging that 'massive vote robbery' had occurred, and decided not to join the parliament.

Gono Forum expelled Sultan Mansur hours after he joined the parliament.

When contacted, party general secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu said Mokobbir took the oath, going against his party's decision. “We will have a meeting today and take punitive action against him.”

Facebook 56
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail